Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-20-2006, 03:14 AM
Denkelag Denkelag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 95
Default Firewire -6088

I´ve read that error -6088 is related to firewire card. This was never a problem before V.7 on my system. I can´t see my fw.card on the qualified cards list any more, so is it approved any longer
/Dennis
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66
1gb Ram
MacOS X 10.4.8
002R PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2006, 02:38 AM
Denkelag Denkelag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 95
Default Re: Firewire -6088

hmm should really appreciate some tips on this
Or is it a question too digisupport?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66
1gb Ram
MacOS X 10.4.8
002R PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2006, 12:13 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Firewire -6088

It could also be your FW cable.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-25-2006, 12:28 AM
Denkelag Denkelag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 95
Default Re: Firewire -6088

Thank´s for your help!
I´ve replaced the firewirecable but my problem remains
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66
1gb Ram
MacOS X 10.4.8
002R PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-25-2006, 12:38 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: Firewire -6088

Here are a couple more sugestions from the Answerbase...

Quote:
Disabling all networking or wireless cards on your system from the Device Manager should resolve this error.

1) Click on the 'Start' menu, right-click on 'My Computer' and select 'Properties' from the drop-down list.

2) In the System Properties window, click on the 'Hardware' tab, then on the button for 'Device Manager'.

3) In the Device Manager window, click on the '+' sign next to 'Network Adapters' to open the tab.

4) Right-click on any network or wireless devices listed and select 'disable' from the drop-down list.
Quote:

-6088 is "kIODriverListenerFrameError" which is a 002-specific error code. The Windows 002 driver will throw this error when it detects a gap or out-of-sequence condition in the stream of 1394 packets received from the 002 device. It could mean that something's gone wrong on the 002 device, or that the Windows 002 driver was held off for a while and missed a few incoming packets. The latter is much more likely. This would make the -6088 similar to the -9092/-9093/-9094 errors: potential solutions :
- Verify the drives are set to DMA (not PIO) mode
- Increase the HW buffer size
- Disable third-party drivers/devices/software which may be interfering with the 002 driver
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-25-2006, 11:28 PM
Denkelag Denkelag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 95
Default Re: Firewire -6088

My system is dedicate to PT only and I´ve disabled everything I don´t use.
-6088 is not the only problem, yesterday Pt just sudden made a loud noise then chrash.
My Adaptec is 4300B. Is it the TI version?

/Dennis
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66
1gb Ram
MacOS X 10.4.8
002R PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-26-2006, 05:38 AM
SumOdRsn SumOdRsn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 113
Default Re: Firewire -6088

I'm not sure it's the TI version, but only the older models are TI. I purchased one and I think it was the 4300 C and they weren't TI chips. I had a ton of 6088 errors until I found a different card with the TI chip in it. I can't tell you though it yours is or not. I believe there is something on the card you can look at to determine if it's a TI or not. I'm at work, so I can't look on mine.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-26-2006, 11:37 AM
Denkelag Denkelag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 95
Default Re: Firewire -6088

In Device Manager, the adapter was listed as a "Texas Instruments OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller."
So I´ll take that TI stands for texas instruments and my adaptec has a TI-chip.
Is adaptec with Ti-chip qualified with PT7?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66
1gb Ram
MacOS X 10.4.8
002R PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-29-2006, 11:26 PM
Denkelag Denkelag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 95
Default Re: Firewire -6088

I´ve sent an email to adaptec to confirm that I have TI chip installed.
After a clean install of win most of my problems disappeared

Now to another question: Why doesn´t PT work on swedish vowels in ex. markers? And the keycommands isn´t always same ex. changing from mix to edit window?
/Dennis
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66
1gb Ram
MacOS X 10.4.8
002R PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire Problem !! Error -6088, -6085 Help! tioted765 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-22-2011 06:41 PM
Dell laptop RICOH FireWire 6088 error :( Fatchris 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-07-2008 03:37 PM
-6088 csherby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-17-2006 10:56 AM
-6085 -6088 csherby 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-06-2006 10:55 AM
firewire and 6088 errors niros 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-06-2004 03:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com