Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2006, 06:30 PM
Pont68 Pont68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Default Input cuts out on Digi 002R

I've gone through the general troubleshooting thread and still am having problems with my setup. When I talk into the microphone my input is showing a signal in the mix window but in my headphones the sound is cutting in and out. When I try to record I receive the H/W buffer errors. I've listed my set-up below. I've also tried the typical things like different cables and mic's, etc. I've also disabled the soundcard. Any suggestions would be appreciated.


SiSoftware Sandra

System
Host Name : ASUS4200
User : Administrator
Domain : HOME

Processor
Model : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+
Speed : 2.21GHz
Model Number : 4200 (estimated)
Performance Rating : PR6634 (estimated)
Cores per Processor : 2 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 1 Unit(s)
Type : Dual-Core
Internal Data Cache : 2x 64kB Synchronous, Write-Back, 2-way set, 64 byte line size
L2 On-board Cache : 2x 512kB ECC Synchronous, Write-Back, 16-way set, 64 byte line size

Mainboard
Bus(es) : PCI PCIe USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
MP Support : 1 Processor(s)
MP APIC : No
System BIOS : Phoenix Technologies, LTD ASUS A8N-E ACPI BIOS Revision 1008
System : System manufacturer System Product Name
Mainboard : ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-E
Total Memory : 2GB DDR-SDRAM

Chipset 1
Model : Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Athlon 64 / Opteron HyperTransport Technology Configuration
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 1005MHz (2010MHz data rate)
Total Memory : 2GB DDR-SDRAM
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 201MHz (402MHz data rate)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Plug and Play Monitor
Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 6200 TurboCache(TM)

Physical Storage Devices
Removable Drive : Floppy disk drive
Hard Disk : ST3300831AS (279GB)
Hard Disk : WDC WD800JD-22LSA0 (75GB)
Hard Disk : IMG VP0
Hard Disk : Initio ST3300631A IEEE 1394 SBP2 Device
CD-ROM/DVD : CD-ROM F565E (CD 40X Rd)
CD-ROM/DVD : _NEC DVD_RW ND-2500A (CD 40X Rd, 32X Wr) (DVD 5X Rd, 4X Wr)

Logical Storage Devices
1.44MB 3.5" (A:) : N/A
System (C:) : 75GB (65GB, 87% Free Space) (NTFS)
Disk5_vol1 (D:) : 70GB (70GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS)
Sea_disk (E:) : 98GB (73GB, 75% Free Space) (NTFS)
Disk5_vol2 (F:) : 70GB (70GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS)
Disk5_vol3 (G:) : 70GB (70GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS)
Disk5_vol4 (H:) : 69GB (69GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS)
CD-ROM/DVD (I:) : N/A
CD-ROM/DVD (J:) : N/A
Removable Drive (K:) : N/A
Sea_disk2 (L:) : 98GB (98GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS)
Sea_disk3 (M:) : 84GB (84GB, 100% Free Space) (NTFS)

Peripherals
Serial/Parallel Port(s) : 1 COM / 1 LPT
USB Controller/Hub : Standard OpenHCD USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
USB Controller/Hub : USB Root Hub
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : OHCI IEEE 1394b Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller/Hub : OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
Keyboard : Standard 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 Keyboard
Mouse : HID-compliant mouse
Human Interface : USB Human Interface Device

MultiMedia Device(s)
Device : MPU-401 Compatible MIDI Device
Device : Standard Game Port
Device : Creative Game Port

Printers and Faxes
Model : Samsung ML-1430 Series
Model : Microsoft Office Document Image Writer
Model : Auto Microsoft Office Document Image Writer on ABIT3000
Model : Auto HP OfficeJet LX on ABIT3000

Power Management
AC Line Status : On-Line

Operating System(s)
Windows System : Microsoft Windows XP/2002 Professional (Win32 x86) 5.01.2600 (Service Pack 2)

Network Services
Adapter : NETGEAR 108 Mbps Wireless PCI Adapter WG311T

Performance Tips
Warning 100 : Large memory sizes should be made of Registered/Buffered memory.
Tip 2546 : Large memory modules should be ECC/Parity.
Tip 2 : Double-click tip or press Enter while a tip is selected for more information about the tip.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2006, 10:09 AM
Pont68 Pont68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Default Re: Input cuts out on Digi 002R

I'm also receiving the typical H/W buffer errors when I attempt to record. I get the input cutting out even when I'm not speaking into the microphone. When I turn the gain all the way up I hear that the high frequency hiss cuts in and out. Has anybody had this problem. If it is the Digi 002R I need to return it if it is defective within the next two days. I've gone through all trouble-shooting suggestions and my set-up is listed above. I can't get anyone from Digidesign on the phone for my free 90 days of tech support. Maybe I'm overlooking something simple. By the way Pro Tools 6.9 LE is what I'm running and I have not yet installed the ignition pack.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2006, 10:13 AM
SumOdRsn SumOdRsn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 113
Default Re: Input cuts out on Digi 002R

Mine would do that when I had the Buffer set at 64. Increasing to 128 would fix it. I disabled my sound card and was able to use the 64 buffer.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2006, 10:24 AM
Pont68 Pont68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Default Re: Input cuts out on Digi 002R

I had it set at 128, then I had to go to 256 and then 512 but still no luck. I've tried to run the demo and I'm receiveing an error about Disk Allocation.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2006, 10:42 AM
Pont68 Pont68 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 58
Default Re: Input cuts out on Digi 002R

I corrected the problem or so I believe. I opened Pro Tools and without a session open, pressed Alt-Control-Delete. Then clicked on Processes, then ProToolsLe.exe, Right-Click, Choose Set Affinity, and then I unchecked CPU 0. I'm able to playback the demo session and record in my own sessions. I hope this helps others.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002R - Input Fuzz (Ch1) obscure44 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-07-2010 10:30 PM
002r (Digi CoreAudio, I suspect) cuts out constantly wilseven 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-19-2008 07:04 AM
digi 002 price cuts douzanis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 04-25-2007 10:03 AM
No input on Digi 002R Pont68 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 02-02-2006 03:35 PM
Digi 002r ADAT optical input question cedar 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-08-2005 11:02 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com