Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:21 AM
BSR6P-Bob BSR6P-Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Default Can Avid Link be uninstalled?

Not something I'd ever use so just curious?
I haven't updated yet.

Actually if it's a separate and optional download that may be the answer. Duh. Just don't download it.?
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5 Perpetual / iMAC 27 Retina i5 3.3 Ghz Skylake, 32GB Ram, 256GB Flash / 1TB External 7200 RPM Audio Drive, Mercury Pro CD-DVD Burner USB-3 /Glyph Studio 3 TB Sample Drive
OS X-10.14.4 Mojave
Focusrite Clarett 8preX/Audient ID22 / UA Apollo Twin Duo-Thunderbolt / Harrison Mixbus and Mixbus 32c/ Wavelab Pro 9.5/Cubase Pro 10/ Logic Pro-X/Final Cut ProX/NI Komplete 10/Reaktor 6/ Kontakt 6/Cinematic Studio Strings/Solo String/Piano/ Synthogy American Steinway D/Superior Drummer 3.0 NY Studio/Omnisphere 2.6/ Collection/Waves Grand Masters/Waves Abbey Road Plates/Waves Gold/Waves H-Delay&H-Comp/Many UAD2 Plugins
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:34 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 268
Default Re: Can Avid Link be uninstalled?

Yes, just go to Applications>Avid_Uninstallers, select the Avid link uninstaller and follow the steps.

First thing I do when update PT. It's useless for me.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-2019, 07:32 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,112
Default Re: Can Avid Link be uninstalled?

I'm curious as to what you don't like about Avid Link or don't want to use it? It seems an easy way to manage updates and such.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-2019, 07:45 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 268
Default Re: Can Avid Link be uninstalled?

well,

1. I don't do updates through the avid link.
2. I don't like software to start by their own at startup
3. I don't like software to run on background.
4. I don't see an advantage for me on using it.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-2019, 08:08 AM
BSR6P-Bob BSR6P-Bob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Can Avid Link be uninstalled?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
well,

1. I don't do updates through the avid link.
2. I don't like software to start by their own at startup
3. I don't like software to run on background.
4. I don't see an advantage for me on using it.
What he said.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.5 Perpetual / iMAC 27 Retina i5 3.3 Ghz Skylake, 32GB Ram, 256GB Flash / 1TB External 7200 RPM Audio Drive, Mercury Pro CD-DVD Burner USB-3 /Glyph Studio 3 TB Sample Drive
OS X-10.14.4 Mojave
Focusrite Clarett 8preX/Audient ID22 / UA Apollo Twin Duo-Thunderbolt / Harrison Mixbus and Mixbus 32c/ Wavelab Pro 9.5/Cubase Pro 10/ Logic Pro-X/Final Cut ProX/NI Komplete 10/Reaktor 6/ Kontakt 6/Cinematic Studio Strings/Solo String/Piano/ Synthogy American Steinway D/Superior Drummer 3.0 NY Studio/Omnisphere 2.6/ Collection/Waves Grand Masters/Waves Abbey Road Plates/Waves Gold/Waves H-Delay&H-Comp/Many UAD2 Plugins
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-2019, 08:09 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,918
Default Re: Can Avid Link be uninstalled?

Whay they said! ^^^^^^^^^
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-2019, 08:41 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,963
Default Re: Can Avid Link be uninstalled?

I install Avid link as needed, and uninstall it when done. It's not that Link has caused any dramatic slowdown, but I prefer to remove as many background apps as possible.

That being said, Avid Link is a huge advancement over Application Manager.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-2019, 09:00 AM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,187
Default Re: Can Avid Link be uninstalled?

I disabled it at startup in Task Manager and start/run it as needed. It does look like an improvement over Application Manager so I'll leave it installed for now.
__________________
I7-4930K, X79-Deluxe, 2133 32 GB,
GT640, 512GB 860 Pro, 1TB Evo, WDB 2TB X2,
Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate 2019.6 REAPER 5.963
RME, Daking, ISA, Sytek, BLA

ASUS N71Jq i7 940xm 8GB DDR3
PTHD 12.1 REAPER - Win 10 HP
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-10-2019, 09:40 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,793
Default Re: Can Avid Link be uninstalled?

The fewer background apps the better. I can't count how many times one of them has conflicted with an audio-related app and caused an issue, and earlier iterations of the app manager caused hangups at times (I stopped using it so I don't know if that's been improved). Updates are done via the website so it serves no actual purpose, for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't link my Avid master account to the Avid community IuliaC Licensing & Accounts 3 03-27-2019 08:05 AM
Avid Link - Now Available DigiTechSupt General Announcements 0 01-24-2019 11:04 AM
Avid Link anyone? jchan Licensing & Accounts 2 10-23-2018 12:16 PM
Avid Link Avid Technical Alerts 0 09-13-2018 01:20 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com