Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-05-2019, 02:32 PM
michele70 michele70 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: venice/italy
Posts: 2
Default Issue using Pro tools First with Scarlett Focusrite 2i2

Hi,

I need help in the recording phase of an instrumental track with Pro Tools First. I use my electric guitar connected by scarlett focus on 2i2 to the PC (channel 1- instrument ) and Pro tools First (2018.7.0). The installed drivers work properly, in fact I can hear the guitar input signal (on Input 1 mono) and I can also use the various guitar plug-ins that I've installed. However, when I switch to recording, also if I have enabled the recording buttons with right volume leves on both the track and the general control recording buttons, I can't record anything (I can't even see the waveform advancing in the timeline). The output channel is set to "Output 1-2 stereo" the only one I can see.

Playback engine is "Focusrite USB Asio"
sample rate "44.1KHz"
Default Output "Output 1-2"
Optimaze for recording
Buffer size 64

Can you suggest me which could be the issue and how can I solve it?

Thanks a Lot.
Michele
_____________________________________________
Computer model: Dell Inspiron 5558- Intel i5-5250U
processor speed: 1,6GHz
OS version: Windows 10 pro 64 bit
Pro Tools version: First 2018.7.0
Amount of Memory installed: 8GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2019, 05:31 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,155
Default Re: Issue using Pro tools First with Scarlett Focusrite 2i2

"channel 1- instrument"

Are you using an Instrument Track? If so, won't work. Use an Audio Track instead.
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-2019, 03:51 PM
michele70 michele70 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: venice/italy
Posts: 2
Default Re: Issue using Pro tools First with Scarlett Focusrite 2i2

Great now it works!!! thanks for the suggestion.

When is the right case to use the instrumental track instead?...maybe to record an instrument using a microphone?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2019, 04:02 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,442
Default Re: Issue using Pro tools First with Scarlett Focusrite 2i2

Quote:
Originally Posted by michele70 View Post
Great now it works!!! thanks for the suggestion.

When is the right case to use the instrumental track instead?...maybe to record an instrument using a microphone?
Instrument tracks are for MIDI you want to process thought a virtual instrument plugin. _Totally_ different than recording audio of any instrument.

This is a common beginner confusion, you will not work this stuff out easily by guessing/random trying stuff. Try finding tutorials on Youtube etc. that show things similar to what you want to do and following them to get started.

You may want to spend time flicking though the Pro Tools Reference Guide (PDF findable online). It's a huge book but explains lots of basic concepts very well, but is specific to Pro Tools and Pro Tools Ultimate not Pro Tools First so you need to be careful with what it describes, but the searchable index is super handy for say looking up "instrument track".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interfacing Issue with Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 UberAubergine Pro Tools 11 2 06-04-2019 09:46 PM
PT 12.5 Focusrite scarlett 18i20 Issue Blackers Pro Tools 12 1 06-25-2018 04:20 AM
Pro Tools 10 + Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 buffer issue Larry O Third Party Interfaces 1 03-29-2018 02:31 PM
Pro Tools using Focusrite Scarlett 2i2-working!! baxteradio Pro Tools 12 1 09-08-2015 12:55 PM
PT11.0.2 full ed. + Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 issue Roland Shaak Windows 3 08-20-2014 11:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com