Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2015, 02:17 AM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Where are the Mboxes?

Ok so I just bought a Surface Pro 4 Tablet with the i5 processor, and so far I've been slowly testing what it can do. So I'm like, maybe I'll get an small Mbox to get better buffer levels and to help with some I/O duties when I'm away from my main desktop!

But they've disappeared! Like GONE!

Does anyone know what happened to them? Did they get discontinued or something? Is Avid coming out with some new interfaces?
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2015, 01:10 PM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Where are the Mboxes?

The last sale date of the MBox 3 Pro was March 2015 (some retailers might have old stock) - http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...-support-dates. The current Avid devices in that range are the Pro Tools Duet and Pro Tools Quartet, made by Apogee.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2015, 10:49 PM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Where are the Mboxes?

WOW!!!! SO I wonder if Avid is going to make a new interface or go through third parties to do them as an Official Product.

Like you said JoelG, Apogee makes two of those new interface (which to me is a little overprice), and the Avid Artist DNxIO was made by Blackmagic Designs. I wonder what will happen next as far as the interfaces are concerned.
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-19-2015, 11:44 AM
VRW VRW is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: Where are the Mboxes?

May I recommend you this brand new RME interface? Itīs really cool, highly professional, still very
compact and transportable. And itīs already compatible with Windows 10 (unlike Pro Tools 12 as
Avid write -Note that Windows 10 qualification is still in progress- itīs coming soon probably).
The RME Babyface Pro.
http://babyface.rme-audio.de
http://www.rme-audio.de/en/

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/BabyfacePro

The Windows 10 driver (RME are just great with drivers, always on time and super stable).
http://www.rme-audio.de/en/downloads...9.6.0.0.bdqecy

This interface would be great with any desktop computer as well and it is definitely the best quality,
most recent transportable/mobile audio interface on the market.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2015, 11:49 AM
Josh Voyles's Avatar
Josh Voyles Josh Voyles is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 333
Default Re: Where are the Mboxes?

I don't see Avid making another interface for Pro Tools. It seems most people (myself included) prefer 3rd party interfaces.

There probably just isn't a huge market for Avid to make interfaces for the lower end of the market.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-20-2015, 12:20 AM
M-ManLA's Avatar
M-ManLA M-ManLA is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Where are the Mboxes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VRW View Post
May I recommend you this brand new RME interface? Itīs really cool, highly professional, still very
compact and transportable. And itīs already compatible with Windows 10
Cool!


Quote:
(unlike Pro Tools 12 as
Avid write -Note that Windows 10 qualification is still in progress- itīs coming soon probably).
Pro Tools 12 isn't compatible with Windows 10? Guess I didn't get that memo *Shrugs*

Quote:
The RME Babyface Pro.
http://babyface.rme-audio.de
http://www.rme-audio.de/en/

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/BabyfacePro

The Windows 10 driver (RME are just great with drivers, always on time and super stable).
http://www.rme-audio.de/en/downloads...9.6.0.0.bdqecy

This interface would be great with any desktop computer as well and it is definitely the best quality,
most recent transportable/mobile audio interface on the market.
__________________
www.M-ManLA.com
www.facebook.com/MManLA
www.soundcloud.com/m-manla


Pro Tools 12, Sibelius First 7/Presonus Studio 192/Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBoxes kconsor Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 01-28-2011 07:55 PM
mboxes vicwind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-25-2007 01:44 PM
Is it possible to use 2 Mboxes? Cerulean 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-06-2007 07:00 PM
can i use 2 Mboxes? sendhelp 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-01-2006 11:54 PM
2 mboxes? GlenHarness 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-01-2006 09:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com