Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2015, 05:33 PM
Unpractical Unpractical is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

So I have an m audio fast track pro, my microphone is plugged into input 2 because input 1 xlr doesn't work for whatever reason. Steam and skype do not pick up input 2 but google hangouts, reaper, discord, and OBS pick up input 2. How can I get steam and skype to recognize input 2? Also when I plug in my instrument with the quarter inch jack skype and steam pick up input 1 but only with the quarter inch jack.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2015, 05:55 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

  1. Windows Control Panel > Sound > Recording tab
  2. Right Click Fast Track and choose Set as Default Communication Device

Unfortunately, Windows seems to bundle audio inputs in pairs. So if your mic is plugged into input 2, Windows thinks it's the right side of a stereo pair.

To fix this, you can use a utility called Voicemeeter to set the input to mono, and feed that signal to a virtual output. This will make it operate as a true mono signal.

Video on Voicemeeter here.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2015, 06:18 PM
Unpractical Unpractical is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default Re: Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
  1. Windows Control Panel > Sound > Recording tab
  2. Right Click Fast Track and choose Set as Default Communication Device

Unfortunately, Windows seems to bundle audio inputs in pairs. So if your mic is plugged into input 2, Windows thinks it's the right side of a stereo pair.

To fix this, you can use a utility called Voicemeeter to set the input to mono, and feed that signal to a virtual output. This will make it operate as a true mono signal.

Video on Voicemeeter here.
Alright so I downloaded the program and it did indeed get skype and steam to recognize my audio however it disabled me being able to hear my computer, I have to have it on at all times in order for it to work, and I can't stop monitoring my voice.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2015, 06:24 PM
Unpractical Unpractical is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default Re: Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

Alright so I have it and it DID fix the problem, skype and steam now recognize the microphone however It seems I have to have it constantly on just so I can hear my computer. Is there anyway to fix this or do I have to have it on at all times?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2015, 06:37 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

What do you have set as your windows Default Playback Device?
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2015, 06:54 PM
Unpractical Unpractical is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default Re: Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

VoiceMeeter Input is default
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2015, 06:57 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

Change it to Fast Track Pro line output or whatever similar listing is there.
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2015, 07:11 PM
Unpractical Unpractical is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default Re: Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

now I can't hear anything again
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-04-2015, 07:17 PM
Unpractical Unpractical is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default Re: Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

nevermind I got it to work!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-04-2015, 07:18 PM
Unpractical Unpractical is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default Re: Weird Fast Track Pro Problem

alright so it seems I need the mixer turned on while I want to use the microphone on steam or skype
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fast Track Ultra 8R Problem bigelownumber21 Third Party Interfaces 0 10-30-2014 02:09 PM
Problem with my Fast Track Pro Mesden FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 1 09-09-2013 07:05 AM
Problem with Fast Track USB and Pro Tools TheBuk Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 3 11-30-2012 12:55 PM
Fast Track Ultra problem drhum23 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 1 08-01-2008 12:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com