Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-04-2012, 02:46 PM
Claudiu Claudiu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Exclamation HELP! PT10 Opening new version session in older version

Hello,

I'm new to the forum, I just need to know if you can use an earlier version of PT 10 than PT 10.3 to open a session edited in PT 10.3.
For example: Open PT 10.3 session using PT 10.2 or PT 10.0.

I need this information as soon as possible as I need to hand a project in by tomorrow.

Also, what if the Pro Tools 10 softwares are different in terms of HDX / HD TDM?
And what if one is using MAC OS while the other uses Windows as a platform?

Thank you in advance.

Regards,
Claude.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-04-2012, 02:57 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: HELP! PT10 Opening new version session in older version

Yes
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-04-2012, 02:59 PM
Claudiu Claudiu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: HELP! PT10 Opening new version session in older version

Thanks jasonthurley but.. does that "yes" apply to all the differences in all my questions?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-04-2012, 03:00 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: HELP! PT10 Opening new version session in older version

Sorry, second question... doesnt matter which hardware but If your using large track counts you might hit the limits of using non HD software (although this can be opened up to the software features of HD with a Complete Production Tool Kit)

So any session made in 9.0 or later will open in any version 9.0 and later and any session should be able to open regardless of what system it was made on, you will have to adjust to use your hardware if they differ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-04-2012, 03:04 PM
Claudiu Claudiu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: HELP! PT10 Opening new version session in older version

wow thank you and thanks for the quick reply. you really took a load off my mind.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2012, 03:06 PM
jasonthurley's Avatar
jasonthurley jasonthurley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: New York NY
Posts: 1,451
Default Re: HELP! PT10 Opening new version session in older version

Anytime!

Create vibrations with the best... PT! Have fun!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2012, 04:32 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,962
Default Re: HELP! PT10 Opening new version session in older version

Please keep in mind, that for PT10 session to open in other than PT10, it must be saved for an earlier version. There are major changes in PT10 such as "Clip Gain" and "Real Time Fades" that must be converted for use in earlier versions including PT9.

Also if you are running huge audio sessions in PT10 with Playback Cache (HD and CPTK only) enabled, you may find that your drives may not keep up in earlier versions. (PT9 and earlier)

Also, HDX in Windows will not operate in versions prior to 10.2.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
older version of PT on top of PT10 youbringmesuffering macOS 1 03-19-2013 07:33 PM
Got a msg saying that the session has been created by a older version.. officialcath Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 12-24-2012 01:20 PM
Can't open session it's created with an older version of PT James Drake Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 08-22-2011 09:17 AM
save session as older PT version (5) gordon Russell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-24-2007 09:20 PM
Recovering a playlist from an older version of a session. tld Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-15-2002 07:59 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com