Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-14-2012, 02:08 PM
bkuehn928 bkuehn928 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NorthernCali
Posts: 10
Default PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

Hey There Everybody!! Ive been recording using AcidPro7 for years, and I finally wanted to switch to over to ProTools after hearing nothing but good things about it.. Anyway I bought myself a used Digi001 that came with PT 5.1.1 software (figured it be a good learners system). I run XP (incompatible with 5.1.1 I learned) so I tried for 2 days to update to 5.3.1 and finally gave up last night and purchased the Pro Tools 6.4 Download Update for $35 from the website..
I downloaded both files: the PT and PT Documentation. Meanwhile my digi001 was connected to my computer power light on. It said the files were around 60mb and 30mb, and what I have downloaded is only 32mb and 4mb which I am also questioning..? Butt my MAIN problem is when I click on the zipped files (I do have 7-zip downloaded to my comp to unzip files), an ERROR message pops up reading: THE COMPRESSED FOLDER (ZIPPED) IS INVALID OR CORRUPT.... Ive been going at this for 3 days now and I just want to begin making music and learning the ProTools world!!!!!!! Any input would be deeply appreciated!! Thanks!! -Brian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-14-2012, 02:59 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,441
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkuehn928 View Post
Hey There Everybody!! Ive been recording using AcidPro7 for years, and I finally wanted to switch to over to ProTools after hearing nothing but good things about it.. Anyway I bought myself a used Digi001 that came with PT 5.1.1 software (figured it be a good learners system). I run XP (incompatible with 5.1.1 I learned) so I tried for 2 days to update to 5.3.1 and finally gave up last night and purchased the Pro Tools 6.4 Download Update for $35 from the website..
I downloaded both files: the PT and PT Documentation. Meanwhile my digi001 was connected to my computer power light on. It said the files were around 60mb and 30mb, and what I have downloaded is only 32mb and 4mb which I am also questioning..? Butt my MAIN problem is when I click on the zipped files (I do have 7-zip downloaded to my comp to unzip files), an ERROR message pops up reading: THE COMPRESSED FOLDER (ZIPPED) IS INVALID OR CORRUPT.... Ive been going at this for 3 days now and I just want to begin making music and learning the ProTools world!!!!!!! Any input would be deeply appreciated!! Thanks!! -Brian
You must be starting a museum of audio recording? Avid still has Pro Tools 6 updates for sale, that is truly amazing. You are likely the only person who has downloaded these files in ages.

You don't need any third party software in Windows XP to unpack a zipped folder, so I would start by uninstalling whatever their party software you have added and just use the built in capability to read these files.

Try downloading using a different web browser (e.g. Mozilla or Chrome, etc.) , check you have free space on the hard drive (you should be getting lots of errors if you ran out of space so unlikely), try downloading using a different PC (or Mac etc.) and seeing if the files will unzip there.


Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-14-2012, 03:11 PM
bkuehn928 bkuehn928 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NorthernCali
Posts: 10
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

Thanks for replying.. Yea Ive realized im pretty much in the dinosaur age but Ive been using AcidPro and needed a program that I can easily learn on, then I will definitly be upgrading..
All that being said I will uninstall 7-zip, I definitly have enough space on the computer, I wiped all the files/programs to use this desktop SPECIFICALLY for recording with ProTools.. I just deleted the PT zipped folders and am going to attempt to re-download them and hopefully things work out differently.. Thanks for the reply!!

Any other input or ideas would be greatly appreciated!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-14-2012, 05:53 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

60 mb seems small for Pro Tools, even 6.4.

Also, with 6.4 you will need XP SP3 along with the 6.4cs6 and 6.4cs9 updates. You may also need the latest PACE drivers.

Be aware that 6.4 is as high as you can go with the 001.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2012, 12:00 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
60 mb seems small for Pro Tools, even 6.4.
The 6.4 zip is 55.8 MB.
I never throw anything away... ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2012, 03:51 AM
bkuehn928 bkuehn928 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NorthernCali
Posts: 10
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

Thanks for the input everybody!! I scratched the installs and went back to my Avid account and re-installed PT 6.4 and this time I recieved the whole file, and was able to extract the files and install PT.. I do have SP3, so tommorow I will look into the downloads you suggested, I do have my PACE up-to-date.. After installing PT I was excited to play around with it and a huggeee buzz killer hit me, turns out this computer has ONLY 256MG RAM!!!! Soo tommorow I will be upgrading the ram to 1GB, and hopefully I can have a weekend learning of what PT is all about!!! Any other advice or tips would be greatly appreciated as Im not scared to admit, I am a PT NOOB!! Ive been recording with AcidPro and Cubase for years, but ProTools is a whole different ballpark.. Anyway Thanks again for the input and any others are welcome to chime in!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-15-2012, 03:51 PM
zedhed's Avatar
zedhed zedhed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 3,905
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

This is a great forum for receiving help and also gaining valuable information. There are a lot of guys here who've been using PT for years and some of us can even remember PT 6 (and earlier) as shown already by previous posts.

Visit regularly & you will see what I mean. Best of luck and have fun with your 001...agh I have fond memories of my little 001

http://archive.digidesign.com/download/cs/64cs9/lewin/
__________________
Too much blood in my drugstream

Gigabyte X99 SOC Force Mobo Bios vF6d
Intel Core i7 5930k socket 2011 v3 @ 3.50GHz
32GB DDR4 Crucial RAM
System: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Record: Samsung M.2NVME SSD 960 Evo
Samples: Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
Storage: 2x Samsung SATAlll SSD 840 Pro
EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Graphics
PT 11HD (v11.2.1) Omni s/pdif w Eleven Rack
HD 96I/O
Win 8.1 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:15 PM
bkuehn928 bkuehn928 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NorthernCali
Posts: 10
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

I do have SP3.. Where would I be able to find and download the cs6 cs9 and PACE drivers??
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2012, 04:18 PM
bkuehn928 bkuehn928 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: NorthernCali
Posts: 10
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

And Thank You ZedHed, Audio is my life (setting up live and recording).. I have found a lot of valuable info on these forums
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2012, 05:14 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: PLEASE HELP!! Purchased Upgrade to ProTools 6.4 and Zipped Files Will Not Open!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkuehn928 View Post
I do have SP3.. Where would I be able to find and download the cs6 cs9 and PACE drivers??
cs6
http://archive.digidesign.com/download/cs/64cs6/lewin/

cs9
http://archive.digidesign.com/download/cs/64cs9/lewin/

PACE drivers
http://www.paceap.com/dldrvr.html
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just purchased PT10. Installed, but cant open Bol Pro Tools 10 3 03-13-2012 10:31 PM
bad crc check on zipped PT 9.3 upgrade cboyer1951 Pro Tools 9 13 07-15-2011 11:00 AM
Pro Tools HD 7.4 zipped Session wont open in Pro Tools SE Lyvewire Pro Tools SE and Essential (Mac) 3 03-01-2011 05:41 PM
purchased the protools le 7.4 upgrade yesterday. wont instal ver1.0 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-27-2008 04:34 PM
Files from ProTools LE...open in anything else? kCmCg 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-02-2002 05:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com