Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2011, 03:37 PM
stevesound stevesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 236
Default better performance from 7 cores than 15 cores?

Hi.

just wondering if anyone can tell me why ProTools 9.0.2 runs best on my mac when I use 7 out of 16 cores? I tried lots of different settings (DAE, etc) and kept going between 14-16 cores but was overrun with crashes and DAE errors, but when I went down to 7 cores everything started running smoothly. Does Protools only run off 1 of the processors?
__________________
Prism Orpheus, PT 11, Mac 2x2.26GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon, 16g ram
Outboard - ADesign, Chandler, RetroDesign, Roland.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2011, 07:10 PM
lexaudio lexaudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: LA
Posts: 1,034
Default Re: better performance from 7 cores than 15 cores?

I assume when you say 16 it is hyperthreaded.

Probably because PT isn't coded for it.

You really only have 8 physical cores.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2011, 09:17 PM
SolutionRoom SolutionRoom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Orange County
Posts: 7
Default Re: better performance from 7 cores than 15 cores?

Or 12. My 8 Core runs without a single hiccup set at 6 cores. At 8 cores, it pukes randomly with a CPU overload error. No more. But, to answer your question... I do not know why that is, other than assuming that PT is using all the cores and leaves not enough processing power for other common Mac OSX tasks. My guess. Worth maybe 2 cents.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-2011, 12:41 PM
stevesound stevesound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wicklow, Ireland
Posts: 236
Default Re: better performance from 7 cores than 15 cores?

thanks for the answers! Was just wondering if there was a problem or something, good to hear it's a common thing.
__________________
Prism Orpheus, PT 11, Mac 2x2.26GHz QuadCore Intel Xeon, 16g ram
Outboard - ADesign, Chandler, RetroDesign, Roland.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-30-2011, 12:48 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: better performance from 7 cores than 15 cores?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaudio View Post
I assume when you say 16 it is hyperthreaded.

Probably because PT isn't coded for it.

You really only have 8 physical cores.
There are a lot of reasons... but that isn't one. Pro Tools has been designed to handle all logical cores... physical or virtual.

It's not that Pro Tools can't handle them, it's more likely that you have a lot of background resources going on. Running other software in the background, running ReWire or running certain plugins that have dedicated resources outside of Pro Tools can all be factors.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance of Pro Tools in multi cores seems the same as in single core whsi Windows 5 02-10-2014 09:58 PM
Problems when using all 4 cores vs. 3 cores hopelessennui macOS 1 02-03-2012 07:54 AM
Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores Hive Guy macOS 8 05-11-2011 12:05 AM
using 7 cores instead of 8 stevedresser83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-08-2010 04:00 PM
for those of you that want 8 cores Craig F Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-04-2007 01:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com