Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-12-2011, 12:01 PM
Hive Guy Hive Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 76
Default Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores

I'm fairly new to the high powered Mac thing running native (been on HD with G4's for a while).

I'm confused because it doesn't seem to make much difference at all how many cores I select for the RTAS engine. 2 cores give me the same, maybe even better performance than 8 cores. Above 8 cores (16 show up), performance actually goes down (both according to the system useage meter and amount of performance before I get glitching).

I'm not sure if there's some kind of optimization I'm missing, or if this is normal behaviour, but I definitely feel that I'm not getting the performance I would expect from this machine.

Any ideas?

MacPro 8-core 2.26 / 6 GB / 10.6.4 / PT 9.0.1 / Lynx Aurora 16 - AES 16e
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-2011, 12:09 PM
digidesigner digidesigner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: World
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores

How are you testing this btw?
I'm on HD and therefore not pushing my CPU that much, but when toying around with settings I did find a similar thing, running a same session and choosing less cores resulted in lower CPU usage in system CPU monitor section when compared to choosing more cores. At the same time PT internal CPU monitor showed less stress on system with more cores. Go figure. Generally it s considered to be a good way to choose as many cores as you have minus one. So in your case it should be 15.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-2011, 12:21 PM
Hive Guy Hive Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 76
Default Re: Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores

In my case, as I increase cores, the Mac system meter shows increasing stress, but much more than the PT meter.

And the strange thing is, that anything over 8 cores gives diminishing performance, both on the PT meters and in actual amount of processing available before glitching occurs. 15 threads gives worse performance than 8.

There is also a big discrepancy between the Mac meter and the PT meter. On the session I'm working on right now, if I select 2 threads, the Mac meter shows 7%, but the PT meter shows about 40%, peaking up to 50%+.

Also, the PT useage meter seems to show almost no change as I decrease cores all the way down to one or two.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2011, 01:26 PM
Emerah Emerah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cairo
Posts: 24
Default Re: Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hive Guy View Post

if I select 2 threads, the Mac meter shows 7%, but the PT meter shows about 40%, peaking up to 50%+.
the Mac meter shows 7% of all the processing power available to the computer. the 40% you see in PT meter is in reference to only the 2 cores you made available.

of course you should expect awesome performance with the machine you have. I know how annoying it is. may be if you share more details about the session you are running, plugins and so, more users will jump in to help?!
__________________
MacPro 2008. 2 X 2.8 Quad. 4GB RAM.
MacbookPro 2.4 C2D. 4GB RAM
OSX 10.6.6
Protools 9.0.2. 003R. Ableton Live Suite 8.2.1. Reaper 3.74
CA Alchemy. M-Audio Axiom 61
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2011, 02:24 PM
Hive Guy Hive Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 76
Default Re: Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emerah View Post
the Mac meter shows 7% of all the processing power available to the computer. the 40% you see in PT meter is in reference to only the 2 cores you made available.
That's good to know. If that's the case, I would expect to see the percentage on the PT meter drop as I add cores/threads, but it doesn't. It actually goes up. So does the Mac meter.

Plugs:

Running a QT Video (scoring session)

1x Stylus RMX (3 slots)
1x Hybrid
1x Vacuum
1x Xpand 2
1x Structure (1 slot)
Decapitator (stereo x 3)
Tremolator
Filterfreak
TL Space (stereo X4)
Filterbank (x5)
AIR lo-fi (x3)
L2007
Compressorbank (x2)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-2011, 04:11 PM
slater05 slater05 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 188
Default Re: Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hive Guy View Post
That's good to know. If that's the case, I would expect to see the percentage on the PT meter drop as I add cores/threads, but it doesn't. It actually goes up. So does the Mac meter.

Plugs:

Running a QT Video (scoring session)

1x Stylus RMX (3 slots)
1x Hybrid
1x Vacuum
1x Xpand 2
1x Structure (1 slot)
Decapitator (stereo x 3)
Tremolator
Filterfreak
TL Space (stereo X4)
Filterbank (x5)
AIR lo-fi (x3)
L2007
Compressorbank (x2)
I'm not expert but I was under the impression that Pro Tools was only able to utilize a few processors, so leaving most of them for the rest of the computer is the best way to go.
__________________
www.mikeslatermusic.com
PTHD9 Certified Operator
15" MBP 10.7.2
Pro Tools 10.0
Apogee Duet
M-Audio BX5A's
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2011, 08:27 AM
Fidelis Fidelis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil
Posts: 978
Default Re: Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores

I have the same computer as you. 2.66 mac pro. Did lots of test and on my system (pt hd3) I find that using 7 cores (pt reads 14) is the best. 1 core for the system and the rest for Protools. Hope that helps
__________________
http://www.ricardomosca.com

Intel Mac Pro 12 core 3.33 GHz, 20GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT HDX, PT 12.8, SSL 4040G+, tons of outboard
Mac Book Pro 2.4Ghz Duo, 4GB RAM, OSX 10.10.5, PT Vanilla 12.8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2011, 12:21 PM
Hive Guy Hive Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 76
Default Re: Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores

Sure, I set 7 or 8 threads which gives better performance than 15 or 16 (which makes it appear to me that PT9 is not using hyperthreading at all, or if it is, it's not using it properly). I just don't understand why I don't seem to be getting better performance from 8 threads than from 2... I mean I'd expect to see large performance gains if the RTAS is moved from 2 threads to 8, but I don't.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-2011, 12:05 AM
Zarabozo's Avatar
Zarabozo Zarabozo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mexico City
Posts: 499
Default Re: Mac Octo 2.26: Almost no difference between 2 Cores and 8 Cores

Have you guys tried disabling multithreading from BIOS? Or is that something jailed/locked on Macs?

You might find interesting what I found in this tread. I'm on Windows, but for me disabling multithreading actually gave me better performance on ProTools.

HTH

Francisco
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems when using all 4 cores vs. 3 cores hopelessennui macOS 1 02-03-2012 07:54 AM
better performance from 7 cores than 15 cores? stevesound macOS 4 03-30-2011 12:48 PM
Oh where oh where are my cores? yamlan 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 20 05-08-2010 11:13 PM
using 7 cores instead of 8 stevedresser83 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-08-2010 04:00 PM
for those of you that want 8 cores Craig F Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-04-2007 01:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com