Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2010, 11:03 PM
Minimutt Minimutt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bronx, NY
Posts: 11
Question Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

Having an issue with crossgrading to PT9 from PTLE...

I've seen several threads on this but I haven't found one that gives the solution (though at least one is referenced but no link provided). Can someone point me in the right direction to a good thread with a solution, or possibly let me know how to fix my problem?

Issue is as follows below (and is directly copied from the case I opened up with Avid but I don't want to wait until tomorrow for an answer if that is possible, so any help would be appreciated):

- The Avid Activation and Authorization Page's Hardware Serial Number section will not recognize the serial number from my 003 to proceed with activation and download;



- Nor will it recognize my Pro Tools Authorization code from my products account, which from what I have read on the DUC is what is supposed to be the number used.



Again, if anyone can help, it would be appreciated...otherwise I have gotta contact Avid or Sweetwater for the help. Thanks...
__________________
Minimutt

Pro Tools 9 / Digidesign 003 Console / Mac Pro 8 Core 2.26 GHz Intel Xeon / OS X / 8 GB RAM / Black Lion Audio Micro Clock Mk II / M-Audio AxiomPro 61 / Presonus Studio Channel and Eureka Channel Strips, Faderport USB Controller and Central Station Control Center / ART Headamp 6 Pro / M-Audio Uno 1 x 1 / Yamaha DTX Express IV Special / POD X3 Live / Yamaha HS50-HS10 combo, M-Audio AV40 / Plugins galore
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2010, 08:07 AM
coyoteman35 coyoteman35 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Angry Re: Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

I'm having the exact same problem with MBox 2, followed all the steps, soon as it gets to serial number, no joy, e-mailed AVID, waiting for reply.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:53 AM
Obsidian Dragon Obsidian Dragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,800
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minimutt View Post
Nor will it recognize my Pro Tools Authorization code from my products account, which from what I have read on the DUC is what is supposed to be the number used.
This is not correct. You are supposed to use the hardware serial number located on a sticker on the back of your 003R (Not Protools Authorization Code). That is what I used and it work fine.
__________________
Obsidian Dragon
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro14,3
Processor Name: Intel Core i7
Processor Speed: 3.1 GHz
Number of Processors: 1
Total Number of Cores: 4
L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB
L3 Cache: 8 MB
Memory: 16 GB
MacOS 10.14.6 running Protools 2019.6.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2010, 12:24 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Minimutt View Post
Having an issue with crossgrading to PT9 from PTLE...

I've seen several threads on this but I haven't found one that gives the solution (though at least one is referenced but no link provided). Can someone point me in the right direction to a good thread with a solution, or possibly let me know how to fix my problem?

Issue is as follows below (and is directly copied from the case I opened up with Avid but I don't want to wait until tomorrow for an answer if that is possible, so any help would be appreciated):

- The Avid Activation and Authorization Page's Hardware Serial Number section will not recognize the serial number from my 003 to proceed with activation and download;



- Nor will it recognize my Pro Tools Authorization code from my products account, which from what I have read on the DUC is what is supposed to be the number used.



Again, if anyone can help, it would be appreciated...otherwise I have gotta contact Avid or Sweetwater for the help. Thanks...
Are you entering the hardware serial number off the back of your unit?

Are you also making sure to enter your iLok account name - not the serial number off your iLok? The account name is the one you enter when logging in to iLok.com.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2011, 10:58 AM
reidop reidop is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Talking Re: Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

Thank you for this post. The fact that I had to enter my iLok account name (which iLok calls the User ID) and not my iLok account serial number (which BTW is also NOT found on the iLok itself) was critical.

This has now allowed me to download my licenses to my Digi002 iLock!

Yay!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2011, 11:21 AM
buckccs buckccs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brewster NY
Posts: 6
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian Dragon View Post
This is not correct. You are supposed to use the hardware serial number located on a sticker on the back of your 003R (Not Protools Authorization Code). That is what I used and it work fine.
I have a 003 console, recently loaded PT9 on a new Mac Pro quad core. I used the S/N located on the bottom of the unit and 9 loaded without a problem. Followed that by down loading 003 drivers and selecting the 003 from the hardware drop down menu, connected the 003 using the firewire 400 to 800 adapter and that did the trick.

Buck Brundage www.couchcreativeservices.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-05-2011, 02:24 PM
georgekant georgekant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: athens
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

I dont get something.
I have an maudio project mix i/o console.
Than I bought a mpowered protools 8 academic license because I was studying sound engineering. It was only the programm, NOT with hardware since I already had maudio project mix.
Now to crossgrade to protools 9 it says it will ask me for ilok (ok I have this), and for hardware serial number (??? I bought it alone and use it with my own card...).
Anyone knows if I will have a problem if I buy the protools 9 crossgrade?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-05-2011, 02:30 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

you will need to buy the m-powered to 9 crossgrade, which I believe will replace your ver 8 license with PT 9. It's not the same as the le/9 crossgrade. It's 100 dollars more.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-05-2011, 02:35 PM
georgekant georgekant is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: athens
Posts: 5
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

Yes , I understand that I will buy this since I use mpowered protools, but when it asks for hardware serial what should I put? The serial of my project mix? This wasn't bought with protools. That is what I want to know before I spend these money.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-05-2011, 02:42 PM
necjamc necjamc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: RI
Posts: 2,667
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 Crossgrade/Activation Issue

I can't say because I bought the le/9 crossgrade, but from what I have read you do not need a hardware serial for the m-powered crossgrade. but you will surrender the 8 license and gain the 9 lic. That is what I have read on this forum anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 11 Crossgrade LE activation problems please help! listening-books Pro Tools 11 1 12-13-2013 10:38 AM
Crossgrade from LE to 11 activation issue nhlogan Pro Tools 11 5 07-20-2013 08:59 AM
Pro Tools 10 LE Crossgrade Activation Problem BBKBB Pro Tools 10 3 10-07-2012 02:58 AM
Pro tools LE crossgrade issue melodymaster 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-11-2011 10:35 PM
Crossgrade activation Electrik macOS 1 03-22-2011 11:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com