Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 05-02-2005, 09:06 AM

Default Mbox and PT 6.4 issues with Quicktime and Itunes

I'm relatively new at this and researched the posts for the answers - but without success.

I can't seem to get ITunes or other audio apps (Quicktime) to work through the MBox.

As soon as I launch ITunes or Quicktime, those apps freeze and I have to force quit them. PT 6.4 will work but nothing else. As soon as I unplug the MBox, everything works fine.

I'm using a dual 1Ghz G4 - OSX 10.3.9 - Quicktime Pro 7 and ITunes 4.7.1.

When I launch the G4, the USB LED on the Mbox is not lit. As soon as I try and launch any Quicktime or ITunes app, the USB LED will light but the apps won't load. They just freeze and I have to force quit them.

When I launch the G4, the USB LED on the Mbox is not lit, and as soon as I launch Pro Tools, the USB LED comes on. Pro Tools works, but after I quit Pro Tools, the LED stays lit which doesn't allow Quicktime or ITunes to launch.

So basically, once the LED comes on - all bets are off. The only way I can get the apps to work is to unplug the USB cable from the MBox.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Bugs
Old 05-02-2005, 09:23 AM

Default Re: Mbox and PT 6.4 issues with Quicktime and Itunes

Hey Bugs, unfortunately you've run into a few of your namesakes here...

For one, 10.3.9 isn't approved to work with Digidesign stuff - it does actually work (I'm unfortunately on 10.3.9 as well) but the combo is not great, and 10.3.9 is buggy as heck.