Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-07-2005, 01:32 PM
trimix trimix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default FireWire 1814/ PT questions

Just read the 1814 manual which has prompted some questions. It seems the 18 input/ 14 output statement on Digi's hardware comparison chart is a bit of a misnomer as you have to select either ADAT or SPDIF I/O, not both. Has anybody tried one of these with the PT demo yet?

- Is the ADAT SMUX I/O available at 96k in PT?
- Can you use multiple M-Audio interfaces with PT?
- Does the hardware-based monitoring software run smoothly alongside PT?

I see the 1814 comes bundled with Reason Adapted and Delta Live, I wonder how these differ from the Digidesign Editions...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-07-2005, 10:54 PM
sunnywheat sunnywheat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: FireWire 1814/ PT questions

how many 1/4 inch inputs are there? can i hook up the octane and run 16 tracks or whats the deal thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-08-2005, 07:00 AM
tomdrums tomdrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 26
Default Re: FireWire 1814/ PT questions

Can the Firewire 18/14 connect to pc with a 4pin firewire port using a DC power adapter for power?

Or does it always require a 6pin firewire port on pc regardless of being powered by firewire buss or DC power adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2005, 07:21 AM
trimix trimix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: FireWire 1814/ PT questions

Quote:
how many 1/4 inch inputs are there? can i hook up the octane and run 16 tracks or whats the deal thanks for any help
There are eight 1/4" TS unbalanced -10db analog inputs, the first two of which can be switched to use the front panel mic pre/ DIs if you wish. You can patch another 8 channels in via the adat optical input, so yes, 16 inputs total capacity. HTH
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2005, 07:24 AM
trimix trimix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Default Re: FireWire 1814/ PT questions

Quote:
Can the Firewire 18/14 connect to pc with a 4pin firewire port using a DC power adapter for power?

Or does it always require a 6pin firewire port on pc regardless of being powered by firewire buss or DC power adapter?
It works with 4 pin 1394 ports, you just have to use the included 12V DC power adapter instead of bus power.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-09-2005, 02:58 AM
tomdrums tomdrums is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 26
Default Re: FireWire 1814/ PT questions

Thanks, good to know the 18/14 can go with a laptop with only a four pin firewire port.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No other way than the Firewire 1814? shultzee13 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 08-12-2008 01:54 PM
HELP! Firewire 1814 with M-powered reezy Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 5 07-12-2007 07:22 PM
Mac Pro 2.66, Firewire 1814, 10.4.7 Imagine Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 7 09-21-2006 11:13 AM
Firewire 1814 Bill Pillmore Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 0 11-08-2005 05:38 PM
ATTN:1814 Owners..I have a few questions dversion Pro Tools M-Powered (Mac) 4 07-02-2005 07:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com