Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #6011  
Old 03-06-2009, 08:01 PM
Zin Zin is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Hey everyone I'm a newbie at this and would like some info as to wether this setup I'm putting together would work.....

Asus P6T Deluxe,intel I7 920, corsair dominator ddr3 1600,Raptor 150gig 10k rpm for the OS, 4 wd caviar black 500gb, gigabyte 9600t video card, ODIN GT 800W power, 2 dell 24" ....would you recommend xp or vista for os

and I'd like to hook this up to a 003 rack....

thanks much

"Positive Vibrations Always"
Reply With Quote
  #6012  
Old 03-07-2009, 10:38 PM
Jamox Jamox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 11
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Help!!! im about to spend my hard earned cash on a system for PTLE im not sure it will work because im not 100% savvy with this stuff can somebody, anybody tell me if im making a big mistake? heres what im going to glue together

Intel Q9550 CPU
Asus P5KR mainboard with P35 Chipset
4-8 gig RAM
2X 500GB HDD 7200 rpm or better

Some sort of cool case and some sort of graphics card as i think the Asus P5KR does not have onboard graphics.

Can anyone see anything wrong here or make a suggestion? Thanks much!
__________________
born tearing flesh from bone since 1980
Reply With Quote
  #6013  
Old 03-08-2009, 07:46 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,784
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zin View Post
Hey everyone I'm a newbie at this and would like some info as to wether this setup I'm putting together would work.....

Asus P6T Deluxe,intel I7 920, corsair dominator ddr3 1600,Raptor 150gig 10k rpm for the OS, 4 wd caviar black 500gb, gigabyte 9600t video card, ODIN GT 800W power, 2 dell 24" ....would you recommend xp or vista for os

and I'd like to hook this up to a 003 rack....

thanks much

"Positive Vibrations Always"
xp home. avoid vista at all cost right now.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #6014  
Old 03-09-2009, 11:14 PM
simon lefisch's Avatar
simon lefisch simon lefisch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CA, U.S.A.
Posts: 96
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

hey everybody, just had a question about the best setup. im thinking of upgrading my P4 system to a dual-processor system and was wondering about the Xeon processors. has anyone had any experience with them on the PC side? if so, whats the best motherboard/processor configuration to use? or would it be better to go with AMD? if thats the case, what motherboard/processor config would be better? i willing to spend some money on it, but not to the point that ill go broke doing it. i was thinking of either of these 2 motherboards:

http://www.directron.com/s5000xvnsatar.html#pagetop

http://www.directron.com/s5000vsascsir.html

any info would be appreciated. thanx :)

D.I.Y.S. P4 3Ghz, 3Gb RAM, 40Gb system drive, 120Gb program drive, 300Gb external Firewire drive, Win XP Pro, 002 Rack, Berhinger ADA 8000, Pro Tools 8. this system DOES NOT connect to the internet and the OS is stripped to bare essentials.
Reply With Quote
  #6015  
Old 03-16-2009, 11:36 AM
DigerEdo DigerEdo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE BEST MOBO?

Has anyone tried this board I plan to buy it soon:

Model
Brand GIGABYTE
Model GA-EP45-UD3P
Supported CPU
CPU Socket Type LGA 775
CPU Type Quad-core / Core 2 Extreme / Core 2 Duo / Pentium
FSB 1600/1333MHz
Chipsets
North Bridge Intel P45
South Bridge Intel ICH10R
Memory
Number of Memory Slots 4×240pin
Memory Standard DDR2 1333
Maximum Memory Supported 16GB
Channel Supported Dual Channel
Reply With Quote
  #6016  
Old 03-16-2009, 01:06 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,006
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE BEST MOBO?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigerEdo View Post
Has anyone tried this board I plan to buy it soon:

Model
Brand GIGABYTE
Model GA-EP45-UD3P
Supported CPU
CPU Socket Type LGA 775
CPU Type Quad-core / Core 2 Extreme / Core 2 Duo / Pentium
FSB 1600/1333MHz
Chipsets
North Bridge Intel P45
South Bridge Intel ICH10R
Memory
Number of Memory Slots 4×240pin
Memory Standard DDR2 1333
Maximum Memory Supported 16GB
Channel Supported Dual Channel
Is there a reason to stay with socket 775? The newer X58 boards with intel's i7 cpu are netting a large performance increase over the socket 775 setups. Check out the i7 thread for more info.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #6017  
Old 03-17-2009, 12:33 PM
DigerEdo DigerEdo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE i7?

***"Is there a reason to stay with socket 775? The newer X58 boards with intel's i7 cpu are netting a large performance increase over the socket 775 setups. Check out the i7 thread for more info."***

The main reason I did not look into the i7 core was I did not think they were compatible with PTLS 8. Also I was trying to keep cost down. The good folks at guitar center told me the mbox2, PTLS system would work on my laptop but it will not. Now I am buying a PC I did not budget/plan for.

How do I find the i7 thread?
I searched but could not find it.

Last edited by DigerEdo; 03-17-2009 at 12:35 PM. Reason: Add Quote
Reply With Quote
  #6018  
Old 03-18-2009, 08:15 PM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,784
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigerEdo View Post
***"Is there a reason to stay with socket 775? The newer X58 boards with intel's i7 cpu are netting a large performance increase over the socket 775 setups. Check out the i7 thread for more info."***

The main reason I did not look into the i7 core was I did not think they were compatible with PTLS 8. Also I was trying to keep cost down. The good folks at guitar center told me the mbox2, PTLS system would work on my laptop but it will not. Now I am buying a PC I did not budget/plan for.

How do I find the i7 thread? I searched but could not find it.

here
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #6019  
Old 03-19-2009, 10:13 AM
Whalter Whalter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 55
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

Hello,

I am new to these forums so hello!

I have just got an MBox 2 with Pro Tools 8 LE, I have tried it on my Laptop (Centrino Dual Core!) which seems to be struggling! and my desktop PC is a P4 so im not even going to try.

I am building a PC to power PT8 and a friend who is great with PC's (but knows nothing about audio recording/PT's) has suggested this...

Gigabyte GA-M61PME-S2 (Socket AM2) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
AMD Phenom X4 Quad Core 9950 2.60GHz Black Edition (Socket AM2) - Retail
Kingston Hyper X 4GB (2 X 2GB) DDR2 6400C4 800MHz Dual Channel Kit (KHX6400D2LLk2/4G)
2 xHitachi Deskstar P7K500 500GB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (0A35415)

I don't know an awful lot about computers, and I apologise that this list looks like every other guy who is trying to get his list double checked!

I just want to run it by some people who are more knowledgeable than me before I spend any money.

Obviously I am trying to keep the cost down, I can afford to spend a little more than that lot costs (ideally around 350 quid)

Thank you in advance for anyone who looks into this.

Chris.
Reply With Quote
  #6020  
Old 03-21-2009, 12:26 AM
UrbanTragic UrbanTragic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: Best Desktops for PTLE

I need help building a pc for up to a 1000$. I dont know what to buy that would be compaitable so any help would be much apreciated. I was either gonna buy a new mac book or build a pc. im just afraid if i buy a mac it wouldnt be compaitable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools-qualified desktops outdated??? robotboy Windows 4 05-28-2013 06:02 PM
HP Desktops? whatwhat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 04-29-2009 10:33 AM
HP Desktops in LE?? finman29 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-06-2008 12:06 PM
Pro-Tools and RAM Drives. Laptops/Desktops - Possible? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-13-2008 10:34 PM
HP Desktops my cardboard box 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-05-2004 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com