Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2000, 08:36 PM
staedtler staedtler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: hong kong
Posts: 51
Default LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

hi all,
i need a vote of confidence as i'm about to purchase the "new" G4 350 and the 001!!
'cause i can't afford anything more powerful.
can someone tell me if this has worked for them. what type of stuff are you are using it for and what other extra setups did you have to add. (like hard drives and ram)

thanks for your vote!!!

s.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-31-2000, 10:37 PM
Dean Bohana Dean Bohana is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: N.Y. N.Y. USA
Posts: 331
Default Re: LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

Same setup here! G4/350, 256 RAM, 27 gig internal Seagate ATA/66 HD (just for audio...original HD that came with computer for system software, etc..only). 001, DP 2.6...this system smokes!
Dean
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2000, 12:10 AM
kickindaspeaker kickindaspeaker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 22
Default Re: LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

Mine is a Yikes, but you should get about the same performance. Let me tell you: it rules. I don't regret it one bit. I spend a big amount of time on the decision of the software (Logic), the machine (G4), and the interface (Digi). I'm so happy I could cry. I would never have guessed it would run so smoothly.
Just keep some dough for the RAM. I have 64 stereo i/o, and the day I want I can buy a 2nd Digi001 for 128 stereo i/o (I'll probably need another drive by then too). Logic kicks PT5 LE's ass. No I don't know honestly I don't use PT soft, cause I need more than 24 tracks. I've heard the automation was better in PT, but then again it's perfect for me in Logic.
Anyway, enough about Logic:
G4+Digi001=winner.
See you in Heaven...

------------------
G4 400Mhz PCI Graphics
w/320Megs RAM
Logic Audio Platinum
4.1.2
Digi0
__________________
G4 400Mhz PCI Graphics
832 MB RAM
OS 10.3.4
Logic PRO 6.4.2
Digi001
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-01-2000, 04:20 AM
bobbymemphis bobbymemphis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 14
Default Re: LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

Well, I just got my G4/350 a few days ago and am ordering the 001 tomorrow. God, I hope its the way to go! But, just wanted you to know that you're not alone. I did get an extra 64 of RAM (128 total-I don't plan to use midi) and I hope that's enough. Happy Recording!

------------------
__________________
bobbymemphis@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-01-2000, 05:14 AM
MikeC MikeC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: London, England
Posts: 426
Default Re: LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

I have a G4/350 and so far (touch wood) it has behaved perfectly.

Must say that it would be great if the Digidesign and the other plug-in producers developed some plug-ins that took advantage of the Ativec engine. The temptation to go plug-in mad is always too great!

Definate thumbs up!

Cheers,

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-01-2000, 12:17 PM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

128MB should get you going, but sooner or later you'll want 192 or 256MB. I've got 160MB and haven't run out memory running PTLE only.

However, last night I was sending samples back and forth to my Emu using Recycle and had PTLE loaded to import the midi files, but when I tried to also load the PTLE PDF manual to look something up, I got an "out of memory" message.

I've run PTLE with the PDF manual without problems, however.

G4/400 Sawtooth
+ Maxtor 27.2GB 7200RPM ATA/66 2MB Cache
+ Orange Micro Ultra-SCSI
+ OS9
+ 128MB DIMM + 32MB DIMM

It's pretty stable overall - at least with PTLE. It definitely rocks as far as power goes. I've heard PTIII users salivating over the power compared to a standard DSP farm.


------------------
LW
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-01-2000, 10:14 PM
bobbymemphis bobbymemphis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 14
Default Re: LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

Am wondering if I need to add another HD. Comments? Will be running all audio - no MIDI
but PT recomends dedicated drive for 24 trks (recording and/or playback not specified). My PCU has 10-gig. Cheers!
__________________
bobbymemphis@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2000, 10:16 PM
bobbymemphis bobbymemphis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Memphis TN
Posts: 14
Default Re: LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

Am wondering if I need to add another HD. Comments? Will be running all audio - no MIDI
but PT recomends dedicated drive for 24 trks (recording and/or playback not specified). My PCU has 10-gig. Cheers!
__________________
bobbymemphis@hotmail.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2000, 12:11 AM
Matt_Bauer Matt_Bauer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Melbourne, VIC, Australia
Posts: 108
Default Re: LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

To Bobby memphis,

Hi, Whether or not you need another drive is probably up to how much space you require.

keeping in mind that 44.1khz - 16bit uses up roughly about 10mb per minute (stereo).

Now I'm not 100% sure if this next bit is true or not but this is what I've been told:

You should never have you're audio & session files on the same drive that your system stuff and applications are on.

I've also been told that you shouldn't really have an audio partition any larger than 2gb.

So I've got the standard internal ATA 20gb drive partitioned 6 ways.

10GB for system stuff and applications, and 5 other partitions of 2gb each for audio.

Like I said, I don't know how much truth is to this, but that's what I've been told and I've had no problems so far (touch wood).

I would be interested to hear other people's
opinion's on this too.....

Seeya, Matt.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2000, 02:03 AM
Chris Coleman Chris Coleman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,656
Default Re: LET\'S VOTE!! G4 350 and 001...

Bobby-

Matt is right on some level by saying that the drive issue is a storage issue, but it really has to do with performance. You don't want PT working and recording/playing back from the same disk, you'll get 10x the error messages that way...you can technically do it, but it is highly recommended that you get yourself another drive strictly for audio. Matt's 2gig partitions are up to him, just as long as the drive isn't too huge...the search time is what matters and the smaller the partition, the less there is to search, the quicker the search time- you get my point. The emphasis here is that you can never be too safe or have too much storage (it fills up quickly believe me) and with HD prices so low these days, an 18 gig hard drive will run you about $200...and it's completely worth it. My advice: buy the drive.
__________________
It's not rocket surgery
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please vote :-) maddmatt Eleven Rack 1 01-18-2011 06:52 AM
Vote for ME! da BaSsTaRd! 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 32 11-04-2004 10:30 AM
VOTE Roger Stauss Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 26 11-07-2002 01:33 AM
Your vote please? bassmac 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 03-15-2002 05:56 PM
I need your vote PLEASE flanman General Discussion 0 10-16-2000 07:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com