Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #51  
Old 11-17-2010, 08:21 AM
Ray Campbell Ray Campbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by breakie View Post
Hi Ray,

indeed you have to watch out for the pci slots!!!
they have to be next to each other if you are planning on using more then 1 protools card! (otherwise the flexcable will be too short)

As stated in my earlier post, I'm running on an x58 (1366) chipset.
The Gigabyte board I tried was not very stable with more then 8 Gigs of ram...
Thanks for that. So is it just a physical thing, being the length of the flexcable? Or is it also an electronic/logic thing where the cards can't communicate properly?'

Also, which Gigabyte board was that? It might be one to avoid...

Ray
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 11-17-2010, 08:33 AM
breakie's Avatar
breakie breakie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 68
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Gigabyte was X58a-ud3r (v2.0) with kingston 4bg ram modules...

BTW, also consider a big pc case!! (since the pci's are full lenght, you need the space)

Antec en chieftec (amongts others) offer affordable cases


btw I seen other 'happy' duc users that use the ASUS pt6 deluxe v2
__________________
Asrock z97 extreme6 - i7 4770k - 24GB DDR3 - samsung evo 960 pcie SSD (OS) - GTX1070 - Win10 x64 - PT HDX - HD Omni - HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 11-18-2010, 07:26 AM
Ray Campbell Ray Campbell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 423
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

I think I've found the perfect motherboard for me, since I only have HD2:

Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD4P

Pros:
- Two adjacent PCI slots
(plus 2 adjacent PCI-e-x1 slots should I choose to crossgrade.)
- SATA II and SATA III
- USB 2 and USB 3
- Firewire 400
- S/PDIF output (optical and Coax).

A search turned up no experience with this board.

Is there any reason to think this would not work with PT HD?

Any confirmed success would be awesomely appreciated.

Ray
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 11-18-2010, 10:13 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,864
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

I run an HD4 in a P6t WS Pro. It's really a super stable motherboard. I have a older Magma PCI-x chassis and everything is working great with PT9.
Best
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 11-18-2010, 11:02 AM
manichouse manichouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 352
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Brandonx,
Out of curiosity, is there a buffer size penalty when using this chassis? How about voice count? I'm running HD3 Accel PCI-x on an old Tyan 2895 Dual Opteron 285 setup still, and am exploring upgrade options. Many thanks.
__________________
Martin Trum
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 01-26-2011, 03:53 PM
Bob Nagy Bob Nagy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 111
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

>>>
indeed you have to watch out for the pci slots!!!
they have to be next to each other if you are planning on using more then 1 protools card! (otherwise the flexcable will be too short)
<<<

This is no longer true. I know of a solution that allows the use of motherboards with non-adjacent PCI slots. Contact me if interested.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 02-05-2011, 08:53 AM
breakie's Avatar
breakie breakie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Belgium
Posts: 68
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

hi Bob,

what's the solution?? (besides an expansion chassis)
:)
__________________
Asrock z97 extreme6 - i7 4770k - 24GB DDR3 - samsung evo 960 pcie SSD (OS) - GTX1070 - Win10 x64 - PT HDX - HD Omni - HD I/O
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 02-05-2011, 10:20 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by breakie View Post
hi Bob,

what's the solution?? (besides an expansion chassis)
:)
An extended Flex cable that work with non consecutive PCI slots. I've seen pics. It looks neat and I know Bob has it working.

Hopefully I'm not giving up any secret.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:35 PM
sean shannon sean shannon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 801
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunburst79 View Post
An extended Digilink cable that work with non consecutive PCI slots.
You mean an extended flex cable?
__________________
Check your mix in mono.
www.mixingtheband.com
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:57 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Which motherboard/processor for pci cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sean shannon View Post
You mean an extended flex cable?
Yep.

Fixed my post. Didn't realized I wrote Digilink. Should have a pic here somewhere if you want one.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor KGB2011 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 8 09-01-2009 08:37 AM
Help!!!! Motherboard and Processor Obscene Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-07-2006 11:46 AM
Help!!!! Motherboard and Processor Obscene 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-07-2006 11:37 AM
new motherboard and processor abel quintanilla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-22-2005 08:45 AM
motherboard processor help 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-25-2001 06:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com