Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #121  
Old 12-01-2019, 03:38 AM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 269
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuikDraw View Post
I say jump. I've been on Studio One 4 for almost a year now. It took me a few weeks to get comfortable with it, but it does everything I need. And it's done and paid for. No monthly payment. No annual payment. If I feel I need version 5.x whenever they release it, that's when I pay next. If I want to. No penalty.


This 100% I’ve done the same.
Nearly a year now with S1.
Beats PT for stability and capability.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 12-01-2019, 05:26 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,892
Default Re: New Pricing

Another one that doesn't do what Avid has/is doing with PT is Digital Performer. You can jump off the wagon any time and get back on with no reinstatement fee. You just pay for whatever new whole number upgrade price is. And authorization is serial number - no dongle. No subscription but permanent license.

One downside is it's a whole different way of working than in PT - I know because it's my second daw - but due to that I don't use it all that much unless I have a repeat customer who needs rework of an old session. There's no such that as an instrument track like we know it in PT - it's separate a separate MIDI track and a track to hold the vi. If you think this user community can be rough at times - you ain't seen nothing yet if you go visit Motunation (they don't suffer newbies lightly). That and other things make me feel that paying the $199/year for a permanent license is worth it.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 12-01-2019, 07:04 AM
cqd cqd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 108
Default Re: New Pricing

So can anyone clarify..I have an academic perpetual license..I can keep it going for another year and will still have a perpetual license at the end of it?..Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 12-01-2019, 07:49 AM
Teej Teej is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 81
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by cqd View Post
So can anyone clarify..I have an academic perpetual license..I can keep it going for another year and will still have a perpetual license at the end of it?..Thanks
Unless academic licenses are different, my understanding is you can keep it going as long as you want (until Avid change their minds about that too) but you have to keep the upgrade plan current. As soon as you let it expire, your perpetual license is stuck at that version forever and your options will be a) buy a new perpetual license (again, until Avid change their minds about offering perpetual licenses) or b) rental subscription.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 12-01-2019, 08:18 AM
cqd cqd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 108
Default Re: New Pricing

Thank you teej..ah tbh I dont mind firing over the 99 for another year or so and see where we get..slightly better midi and I'd be reasonably happy..I was on 11 for long enough..I wont ever go subscription though..
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 12-01-2019, 09:30 AM
DJKeys's Avatar
DJKeys DJKeys is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 160
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by nige108 View Post
This 100% I’ve done the same.
Nearly a year now with S1.
Beats PT for stability and capability.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Agreed. I have been working with Studio One 4 for a few days and it really has everything I need as well. Plus, it has three excellent built in instruments, Impact, Presence, and Sampler which are all capable and come with a lot of excellent content.

-dj
__________________
iMAC 3.2GHz 6-core i7
250GB SSD (internal)
1TB SSD (external)
16GB RAM
OSX 10.14.5
PT 2019.10 (last one)
Waves Gold/RenMaxx v11
iZotope Ozone 8
Focusrite Clarett 8Pre

Nord Stage 3
Nord Lead A1
DSI Mopho X4
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 12-01-2019, 10:03 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,655
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Another one that doesn't do what Avid has/is doing with PT is Digital Performer. You can jump off the wagon any time and get back on with no reinstatement fee. You just pay for whatever new whole number upgrade price is...
AVID, if you do it THIS way, I think we'd all be happy!!!
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 2019.12 / Win 10 / HP ProBook / i7 quad / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Legacy: PT 5 & 6 / OS9 & OSX / Mac G4 / DIGI001
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 12-01-2019, 11:15 AM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 290
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
AVID, if you do it THIS way, I think we'd all be happy!!!
And would have more customers and, there for, more income. But hey, I guess we have to have some level of stupidity in this world or it wouldn’t be funny.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Catalina 10.15 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.12 Native
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 12-01-2019, 11:27 AM
Blinkofani Blinkofani is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Quebec
Posts: 58
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
And would have more customers and, there for, more income. But hey, I guess we have to have some level of stupidity in this world or it wouldn’t be funny.
I can’t wait to see what surprise they’ll have for us next June....

In my idealistic mind I thought to myself that the version they’re working on now(2020.?) is so stable that they said ‘we need to get rid of reinstatements or users will stay on that version for a long time and won’t want to keep up to date’’...

Blink
__________________
iMac 27" i5 w/24Gb ram, macOS 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 Vanilla, Logic Pro X 10.4.7, UA Arrow, UAD2 Satellite Quad TB, LaCie ext. SSD, Genelec 8040a, Dave Smith Mopho, Korg Z1ex, Gibson Les Paul Classic, Fender Telecaster & Stratocaster, Komplete 12, Omnisphere 1.5, Korg Legacy Coll., Arturia Moog Modular and Prophet.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 12-01-2019, 12:00 PM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 290
Default Re: New Pricing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blinkofani View Post
I can’t wait to see what surprise they’ll have for us next June....

In my idealistic mind I thought to myself that the version they’re working on now(2020.?) is so stable that they said ‘we need to get rid of reinstatements or users will stay on that version for a long time and won’t want to keep up to date’’...

Blink
Hmmm....yeaaaah riiiight!
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Catalina 10.15 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.12 Native
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pricing Rip-Off in the UK 8dB.co.uk General Discussion 22 06-26-2013 03:35 PM
PT 11 HD Pricing EdFaris Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 04-21-2013 01:37 AM
C|24 UK Pricing scotsman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 10-13-2007 11:24 AM
Pricing... jborrmann VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 04-04-2005 11:03 AM
PT6 pricing per EM Kling3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 01-06-2003 05:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com