Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > MIDI

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2007, 04:53 PM
ProToolsUser2 ProToolsUser2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default MIDI recording question...

Okay, first I own a midi keyboard right...and i like to just punch in midi data while i record to let my creativity flow. I do not like putting in notes with the mouse...it just slows me down too much. Now when you record midi data on pro tools(I use LE), I was wondering if it is possible to record over that same data without DELETING the data that you entered earlier? You can do this on reason, but most sequencing programs do not allow you to do that, it just records over it...So is there any setting i can mess with to allow me to do some sort of loop record so I can put in my drum patterns one by one on the same midi track?

thanks,
Paul
__________________
Pro Tools is my BITCH! wooo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2007, 05:01 PM
flommer flommer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 4,117
Default Re: MIDI recording question...

The feature is called MIDI Merge. It is turned on and off by the top right icon on your transport. You also need to be in loop record mode.. Do a search in the manual for midi merge because there are a couple settings I don't remember right now that need to be set correctly to do what you want..
__________________
MacPro3ghz, 6GB, 10.7.5, PT10.3.2, Digi002 factory/toolkit2/PTIEP, 11R
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2007, 05:12 PM
ProToolsUser2 ProToolsUser2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: MIDI recording question...

thanks a lot man, that helps a [bleep] TON cause i was about to give up hope on the whole idea lol.
__________________
Pro Tools is my BITCH! wooo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI Recording Question Fitztacular XXX 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-10-2010 04:06 PM
MIDI Recording Question jimst57 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 12-29-2008 06:03 PM
Midi recording question NoiseRoom 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-14-2007 05:31 PM
MIDI recording question spiritfallrecording 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 08-31-2005 09:39 AM
Midi recording question bruce lang Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 07-12-2004 10:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com