Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2018, 08:19 AM
ccollege ccollege is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default MIDI issues in Pro Tools 2018 on Windows 10.

Hey all,
I've come across an issue with MIDI since updrading to PT 2018 (I'm on 2018.7.0 and used to have 12.8.something). I'm on Windows 10, version 1803.

It seems like it is completely unable to recognise MIDI input. Hope there's not something daft I'm missing here but so far, I can't get any MIDI notes from either of my two MIDI controllers to be recognised.

I've got an AKAI MPK and an M-Audio Axiom 49. They both work flawlessly in Ableton Live, drivers show up in Device Manager and both are even regonised as Midi Input Devices in Pro Tools (albeit with the [Emulated] extension behind them, but I think that's how they showed up before too).
I've tried multiple USB ports, trashing Pro Tools preferences, made sure I've got All as my MIDI input in my track, tried both Instrument and MIDI tracks, ensured I'm record enabled, checked the MIDI Input filter. Totally at a loss.

Hopefully its something stupidly simple I've missed here, anyone care to enlighten me?

Thanks!
Andreas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2018, 05:11 PM
LightWing's Avatar
LightWing LightWing is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Titusville, FL
Posts: 440
Default Re: MIDI issues in Pro Tools 2018 on Windows 10.

Sorry for the late reply here...recovering from eye surgery.

I use an Axiom 49 with Win 10 and only a few issues with it. I have to power on the Axiom BEFORE I boot my Win 10 PC and start PT.

Also, I DO NOT use the USB on the Axiom but rather the Midi Out to my Presonus interface and I use the external power supply. I found the USB connectivity and power to be inconsistent.
__________________
Patrick

www.LightWingStudios.com

Musical Instrument Protection Accessories...Made In America.

KeyShield HD, AxeShield HD, AxeSak, AxeGlove & AxeCap

Win 10 Pro, PT 12.8.10 Native, Dell Precision T5500, Dual Processors (12 Cores), 72GB RAM, 5@500GB SSD, 1@4TB HD, Nvidia 2GB HDMI Card, Vizio 39" TV as Monitor, Presonus AudioBox USB Interface, Mackie HR-828 Monitors, Katana Head, Fishman Triple Play, AIR Music & East West Plugins, 9 Guitars...& an AMAZING wife. :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2018, 07:59 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,234
Default Re: MIDI issues in Pro Tools 2018 on Windows 10.

Not sure about Mac computers, but for midi on a Windows machine, you MUST set up each midi device under the Setup>Midi>Midi Studio window. If you haven't set the incoming midi path, then Pro Tools does not know to "look for" incoming midi information.
__________________
HP z820 12 core, 64GB RAM, HD/Native, HD IOx2, PT11HD, UAD Quad, preamps from Vintech, Five Fish Audio, Miktek, Focusrite, Chameleon Labs, Warm Audio and Midas..............................
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2018, 10:52 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,977
Default Re: MIDI issues in Pro Tools 2018 on Windows 10.

Also make sure you have set the Record button to Record and the the Midi Thru is checked in one of the Pro Tools dropdown Menus I can't remember right now. Look under Options dropdown menu first.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#Nothing Breaks Like a Heart

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 2018.1 low latency monitoring issues stakeoutstudios Pro Tools 2018 57 11-15-2018 08:02 AM
Macbook Pro 2018 w/ UAD Apollo 8p and PT 2018.7 Performance Issues Dudiester Pro Tools 2018 5 08-12-2018 09:33 AM
Pro Tools 2018.4 CPU issues AAE -6101 Reknes Pro Tools 2018 8 07-26-2018 09:59 AM
does Pro Tools 2018.4 native run on Windows 7? kw88keys Pro Tools 2018 9 04-09-2018 03:25 AM
Installation Issues with Pro Tools | First 2018.3 geist171 Pro Tools 2018 2 04-03-2018 07:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com