Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-2007, 10:58 AM
filmkat filmkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
Default need help please - new Windows user from Mac

So now I'm running LE 7 on my new IBM Lenovo laptop. Intel Core 2 Duo 2ghz, 1gig ram. Well it definitely starts faster than my old Mac Mini, BUT I never had problems with just general recording! here's a picture of the error.

http://img505.imageshack.us/my.php?image=hwbuffsg3.jpg

i have tried changing the hw buffer size from 512 and up or less and still nothing. Maybe it's something within the windows world I'm not aware of? Please any help will be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-11-2007, 11:02 AM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: need help please - new Windows user from Mac

Quote:
Intel Core Duo Processor Models

Please Note: Models that offer Intel Core 2 Duo laptop processors (codename Merom) are currently not officially supported or qualified with Digidesign products. Currently only the Intel Core 2 Duo desktop processors (codename Conroe) have been qualified.
There could be further compatibility problems depending on your chipset and whether you are using a qualified firewire secondary drive or not.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-11-2007, 11:07 AM
TheHenchman TheHenchman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 544
Default Re: need help please - new Windows user from Mac

Quote:
Quote:
Intel Core Duo Processor Models

Please Note: Models that offer Intel Core 2 Duo laptop processors (codename Merom) are currently not officially supported or qualified with Digidesign products. Currently only the Intel Core 2 Duo desktop processors (codename Conroe) have been qualified.
And this should be their number one priority right now.

Get Core 2 Duo working.
__________________
www.markhensley.tv

IMDB Credits
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-11-2007, 11:45 AM
filmkat filmkat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 23
Default Re: need help please - new Windows user from Mac

thanks so much fellas. Well then I guess I'll have to wait. I had no idea that there'd be problems with mobile Intel Core 2 Duo chips. not to offend you guys, but from the picture I posted, does that refer to non-compatibility? Seems like it's just hw/buffer. Nevermind then, I'll take your word for it and just follow up on updates.

Second, how come my Sony Sound Forge 8 records with my M-Box 2? I thought digidesign hardware was exclusive to LE software. Hmm, well I guess this will do for now. I also have a MOTU ultralite. It just sucks because I want to upgrade to 7.3, and it was a good thing I ran into this. OR, does 7.3 support the Intel Core 2 Duo chips? thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-11-2007, 12:21 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: need help please - new Windows user from Mac

It's a hard call. You could have multiple issues working against you.

With a compatible computer, the error you posted could be drive related. Recording to the system drive, or anything but a qualified external firewire drive can cause this indication.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-2007, 01:05 PM
Dr.Marv Dr.Marv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 23
Default Re: need help please - new Windows user from Mac

Quote:


Second, how come my Sony Sound Forge 8 records with my M-Box 2? I thought digidesign hardware was exclusive to LE software. Hmm, well I guess this will do for now. I also have a MOTU ultralite. It just sucks because I want to upgrade to 7.3, and it was a good thing I ran into this. OR, does 7.3 support the Intel Core 2 Duo chips? thanks again
Digi hardware is not necessarily exclusive to PTLE, it is however required if you wish to run PTLE - the hardware acts as the dongle for the software. SF8 supports ASIO drivers. When you install PTLE you will notice that there is a digidesign ASIO driver that installs which allows you to use your harware with 3rd party software... even windows media player

Marv
__________________
Pro Tools Abuser.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2007, 01:20 PM
Dr.Marv Dr.Marv is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 23
Default Re: need help please - new Windows user from Mac

.... and another thing... i just took a look at the picture you uploaded... according to your system tray you've got a bunch of stuff running at the same time as PTLE including blue tooth, wireless, an email notifier, and windows automatic updates + more. Digidesign recommends that all of this stuff is turned off when running PTLE.

This may well not be contributing to the problem but it might be a start.

Go through the troubleshooting guide - a post at the top of this forum, it tells you how to turn this stuff off... and see if you can find out which processor you are actually using (merom or conroe).

Also... you may be eligible for a free update to 7.1

cool

Marv
__________________
Pro Tools Abuser.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-11-2007, 01:36 PM
JMS40 JMS40 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Gnashville
Posts: 6,347
Default Re: need help please - new Windows user from Mac

The Core 2 Duo incompatibility is specific to the interaction of Pro Tools LE and the Digi hardware.
That problem won't necessarily effect the interaction between the Digi hardware and 3rd party software.

Just to clarify Dr. Marv's information.
A Digi ASIO driver and a Digi Wave driver are installed along with Pro Tools installation.

The ASIO driver is a multi-track playback and record capable driver useable only with ASIO compatable software.
(Sonar, Cubase, etc..)

General Windows applications such as Windows Media Player and iTunes utilize the Wave driver which is a 2 track playback only driver.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 9 and Windows 7 major CPU spike fix!! PT 9 bug, with fix. Every Windows user!! Will The Weirdo Windows 4 01-19-2011 12:37 PM
Windows user considering Powerbook... JeffRock 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-15-2005 02:15 PM
Mac user to Windows mike16877 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 11 10-02-2003 02:28 PM
Windows TDM user cfg database nikki-k Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 3 07-24-2003 02:04 AM
New Windows user Larryboy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 06-24-2002 07:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com