Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2017, 03:31 PM
pqlior@mac.com pqlior@mac.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 493
Default Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

I'm using the Multiband splitter to feed an aux track (in my case the low-mid split) and it's phasing with the original signal. Seems like it's not being compensated properly. No plugs on it. Most of the low end disappears when I add that split channel but not perfectly out of phase.
__________________
Lior

HD Native * PT 2018.12 * OS X 10.13.6 * MacPro 12 Core * 2.4GHz 24GB Ram * 2XUAD2 Octo * Waves Platinum * Lexicon PCM Native Bundle * Sound Toys Bundle* AutoTune8 * NI Komplete11 * BFD3 * Synthogy Ivory II* Vienna Ensemble Pro * Spectrasonics * Slate trigger2 *xFer records * Softube * Vienna Ensemble * DMG Expurgate * Massey DRT2 *
iPad Air/Avid control * EuCon 18.3.0.217 *
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-27-2017, 03:40 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,401
Default Re: Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

http://www.avid.com/plugins/pro-multiband-dynamics

Bottom of the page:
Quote:
Pro Multiband Dynamics is not recommended for parallel dynamics processing as it can result in phase issues between the processed signal and the unprocessed signal.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-27-2017, 04:19 PM
pqlior@mac.com pqlior@mac.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 493
Default Re: Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen View Post
It's not the dynamics, it's the splitter and it's designed for exactly that purpose. (I think...)

It says this:
You can use Flip band processing mode for results similar to parallel processing without phase issues or having to set up parallel compression routing.

What does that mean?
__________________
Lior

HD Native * PT 2018.12 * OS X 10.13.6 * MacPro 12 Core * 2.4GHz 24GB Ram * 2XUAD2 Octo * Waves Platinum * Lexicon PCM Native Bundle * Sound Toys Bundle* AutoTune8 * NI Komplete11 * BFD3 * Synthogy Ivory II* Vienna Ensemble Pro * Spectrasonics * Slate trigger2 *xFer records * Softube * Vienna Ensemble * DMG Expurgate * Massey DRT2 *
iPad Air/Avid control * EuCon 18.3.0.217 *
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-27-2017, 04:31 PM
SBP SBP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 307
Default Re: Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

Hi -If I sum all the plug in split AUX outputs and also the main output of the plug in -then invert the phase the on the main post the multi dynamics plug in =sound fully cancel.

This is on a native pro tools system.

Cheers

Bruno
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2017, 04:32 PM
teedeecee teedeecee is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Sydney
Posts: 99
Default Re: Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

Perhaps a simple band pass or HPF & LPF filter could achieve the same thing sans phase issues.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-27-2017, 04:55 PM
pqlior@mac.com pqlior@mac.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 493
Default Re: Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

Quote:
Originally Posted by SBP View Post
Hi -If I sum all the plug in split AUX outputs and also the main output of the plug in -then invert the phase the on the main post the multi dynamics plug in =sound fully cancel.

This is on a native pro tools system.

Cheers

Bruno
Right- So that's NOT happening on my rig. (HD native)
__________________
Lior

HD Native * PT 2018.12 * OS X 10.13.6 * MacPro 12 Core * 2.4GHz 24GB Ram * 2XUAD2 Octo * Waves Platinum * Lexicon PCM Native Bundle * Sound Toys Bundle* AutoTune8 * NI Komplete11 * BFD3 * Synthogy Ivory II* Vienna Ensemble Pro * Spectrasonics * Slate trigger2 *xFer records * Softube * Vienna Ensemble * DMG Expurgate * Massey DRT2 *
iPad Air/Avid control * EuCon 18.3.0.217 *
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-27-2017, 05:10 PM
SBP SBP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 307
Default Re: Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

Is the delay compensation thingo showing green?

Just wondering if its something else in the session that is throwing things off.

My test used AUX input track as source what sort of track is your multi dynamics plug in on?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-27-2017, 05:21 PM
pqlior@mac.com pqlior@mac.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 493
Default Re: Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

Quote:
Originally Posted by SBP View Post
Is the delay compensation thingo showing green?

Just wondering if its something else in the session that is throwing things off.

My test used AUX input track as source what sort of track is your multi dynamics plug in on?
Yes. I'm attaching a screenshot. (and in case anyone suggests that, even with plus disabled, it still behaves this way.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot 2017-09-27 at 4.20.27 PM.jpg (18.5 KB, 0 views)
__________________
Lior

HD Native * PT 2018.12 * OS X 10.13.6 * MacPro 12 Core * 2.4GHz 24GB Ram * 2XUAD2 Octo * Waves Platinum * Lexicon PCM Native Bundle * Sound Toys Bundle* AutoTune8 * NI Komplete11 * BFD3 * Synthogy Ivory II* Vienna Ensemble Pro * Spectrasonics * Slate trigger2 *xFer records * Softube * Vienna Ensemble * DMG Expurgate * Massey DRT2 *
iPad Air/Avid control * EuCon 18.3.0.217 *
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-27-2017, 05:26 PM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,570
Default Re: Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

Quote:
Originally Posted by pqlior@mac.com View Post
Right- So that's NOT happening on my rig. (HD native)
You two are talking about different things.

Take all the splits, break them out each to their own Aux Input, then sum all of them back together while putting plugs on the low mid band that you want.

This way they've all gone through the "same routing"
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-27-2017, 05:34 PM
pqlior@mac.com pqlior@mac.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 493
Default Re: Split out of (avid)multiband splitter is phasing

Quote:
Originally Posted by SBP View Post
Hi -If I sum all the plug in split AUX outputs and also the main output of the plug in -then invert the phase the on the main post the multi dynamics plug in =sound fully cancel.

This is on a native pro tools system.

Cheers

Bruno
Also- What are you referring to as the "main output of the plugin"?
The channel out?
__________________
Lior

HD Native * PT 2018.12 * OS X 10.13.6 * MacPro 12 Core * 2.4GHz 24GB Ram * 2XUAD2 Octo * Waves Platinum * Lexicon PCM Native Bundle * Sound Toys Bundle* AutoTune8 * NI Komplete11 * BFD3 * Synthogy Ivory II* Vienna Ensemble Pro * Spectrasonics * Slate trigger2 *xFer records * Softube * Vienna Ensemble * DMG Expurgate * Massey DRT2 *
iPad Air/Avid control * EuCon 18.3.0.217 *
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Pro Multiband Dynamics Question Cryos AAX Plug-ins 2 12-30-2015 06:20 PM
Avid Pro Multiband Dynamics Plug-in - deapth versus ratio Gm167704 AAX Plug-ins 2 02-03-2015 02:42 PM
Avid Pro Multiband Dynamics & Pro Subharmonic DHL AAX Plug-ins 25 11-24-2014 08:06 AM
AVID: Split this forum into Mac & PC soon! nob turner Pro Tools 9 9 11-07-2010 02:01 PM
D-Control 32 split or no split? Don Geppert ICON & C|24 8 01-30-2007 11:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com