Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2003, 07:11 AM
Matts Matts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 145
Default Xserve RAID as storage for ProTools?

The Apple Xserve RAID isn't shipping until late March, but reading the specs and comparing it to other available Fibre Channel RAID solutions it looks quite promising.

I'm a bit surprised nobody hadn't already started a topic on this subject.

The question is of course: can it be used as (the maybe most crucial part of) a SAN for multiple ProTools systems?

Anybody?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2003, 07:43 PM
The Chinese The Chinese is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA
Posts: 603
Default Re: Xserve RAID as storage for ProTools?

The Xserve communicates along a gigabit ethernet line- Fast, but not nearly fast enough for audio. It's great for Sfx Sstorage etc.
we tried to play audio off it, but had no luck.
I could be wrong, but a Fibre channel interface on the Xserve is not for the users, but rather for the server to access data, which it must then send in packets along the gigbit Ethernet line, which would still be too slow for audio.
-Todd A.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2003, 01:16 AM
Matts Matts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 145
Default Re: Xserve RAID as storage for ProTools?

Yes, I know - but that's the Xserve server itself.

I was talking about the NEW Xserve RAID (with a maximum of 14 drives), without the need of a Xserve server in my setup.

The RAID talks over FibreChannel (via a FibreChannel switch) not only to Xserve servers but also to PowerMacG4's.

http://a772.g.akamai.net/7/772/51/c29749e64ecba0/www.apple.com/xserve/raid/images/deployment3b_02090 3.gif

Could the RAID be used building a SAN for ProTools? (Of course you would need a FC switch, FC cards for each PowerMacG4 and all the cabling).

What additional software (that doesn't ship with the unit) would then be needed, if any?

Matts
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-25-2003, 12:59 AM
Matts Matts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 145
Default Re: Xserve RAID as storage for ProTools?

Is it really so that people don't find the Xserve RAID a tempting ProTools-solution (= the reason this topic died even before it was born)?
Or is it so that everybody (besides me) knows that it actually can't be used for this purpose (and therefore don't see a need to participate in a discussion about it - nor see any reason to inform us, not in the knowledge, about this being the case) - or what?

Maybe I try another forum... ;-\

-Matts
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-19-2003, 08:33 PM
hokuspocus hokuspocus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 178
Default Re: Xserve RAID as storage for ProTools?

$$$ does that answer your question
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xserve Raid 2.18TB as Storage digiallen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 7 05-11-2005 02:24 AM
Problem with ProTools and Xserve RAID OysteinHalvorsen Storage Subsystems 0 12-23-2004 07:01 AM
Problem with ProTools and Xserve RAID OysteinHalvorsen Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 12-22-2004 04:06 AM
Apple Xserve RAID and protools nayrbnoswal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 01-24-2004 11:14 PM
Multiple ProTools 6 systems and Xserve RAID? Matts Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 02-25-2003 07:43 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com