Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid Pro Mixing General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2016, 04:22 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 207
Default overheads & ping ride

Hi guys,

I did a drum recording where the drumer played a ping ride at 1 o'clock. I also have a close mic of that ping.

In the mix I would like to have it more "obviously" on the right side (2 or 3 o'clock) but I'm not able to get a "satisfying" result by paning the close mic more right. There's too much signal coming from the OH and the SN mic pulling it back center.

Any trick I've overlooked? I know I could simply leave it where it is but I want that part of the song a bit larger.

Thanks
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 13. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 13. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2016, 11:09 AM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default Re: overheads & ping ride

What does the overall drumkit image looks like in the overhead?

Is the image well balanced? Is it wide enough? Does it have a solid center?

Depending on your analysis you could consider manipulating the imaging with an m-s tool.
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2016, 12:40 AM
danyg danyg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 207
Default Re: overheads & ping ride

yes, the overall image is ok. KI and SN int the mid. Even the ping ride is correct but like in the real kit at 1 o'clock.
__________________
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46Ghz - 64 Gb ram - SSD 500 Gb - HD1 2T - HD2 2T - OS 13. - Mac Book Pro retina- OS 13. - SSL Alphalink convertor - Pro Tools 12 native - SSL Matrix console - Logic Pro X
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2016, 10:24 AM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default Re: overheads & ping ride

If the image is not overly wide you could maybe try widening it/droping the center a bit and compensating with the close sd/bd mics... hard to tell from over here.
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pt 9 smooth ride Filmusic Pro Tools 9 4 11-24-2010 06:47 PM
Can't get the crash-ride in BFD lite to sound like at true ride-is this deliberate? studiostrat Virtual Instruments 3 09-11-2008 03:55 PM
How to Over-ride 002R Pre's? Rick Akoni 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 04-24-2006 11:16 PM
Drum overheads sound without overheads d_matt 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-12-2003 07:57 AM
Which bus should I ride? ripple FX Storage Subsystems 5 09-26-1999 03:37 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com