Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 05-15-2019, 08:27 AM
GuyPicks GuyPicks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 323
Default Re: 2019.5 is here!!

Still see the jittery screen when playing or recording in both my Mac systems and also on a windows 10 system. Had that before the update to 2019.5 too.
Just throwing these things out to try to help AVID. Hopefully.
I run 3 other DAWs on my systems because of my work and have zero problems with them.
__________________
System 1---------------------- System 2
MacPro 5,1----------------------- MacPro 5,1
2-CPUs--------------------------- 2-CPUs
OS X 10.14------------------------Pro Tools 2019.5 HD
Pro Tools HDX -------------------- HDX / 192 Analog
192 Analog------------------------12GB Ram
Sync-------------------------------2-24" monitors
64GB Ram-------------------------32GB Ram
5-Glyph Rack Drives--------------4 internal Drives
Artist Control----------------------Liquid Saffire 56
2-24" Monitors
Glyph Raid 4
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-15-2019, 10:26 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 640
Default Re: 2019.5 is here!!

was there a problem with screen jitter? I was wondering about why mine was jittering .Has it been fixed
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-16-2019, 04:16 AM
GuyPicks GuyPicks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 323
Default Re: 2019.5 is here!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyman View Post
was there a problem with screen jitter? I was wondering about why mine was jittering .Has it been fixed
All my systems, Mac and PC has screen jitter.
I've just gotten use to it.
And no, it's not been fixed in PT 2019.5 for me that is...
I only threw that out to AVID but they probably already know that.
__________________
System 1---------------------- System 2
MacPro 5,1----------------------- MacPro 5,1
2-CPUs--------------------------- 2-CPUs
OS X 10.14------------------------Pro Tools 2019.5 HD
Pro Tools HDX -------------------- HDX / 192 Analog
192 Analog------------------------12GB Ram
Sync-------------------------------2-24" monitors
64GB Ram-------------------------32GB Ram
5-Glyph Rack Drives--------------4 internal Drives
Artist Control----------------------Liquid Saffire 56
2-24" Monitors
Glyph Raid 4
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 05-16-2019, 11:01 AM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: 2019.5 is here!!

All has been going very smoothly on 2019.5 on Win 10 Pro until today, when for no apparent reason it no longer launches. Gets stuck on the Audio Engine part of the loading routine. Complete PC reboot, but same behaviour (RME Babyface sound card).

It wasn't urgent today, but will get to get this fixed first thing tomorrow morning - planning a re-install and if that doesn't cure it a roll back. Anyone else had anything like this / have any ideas I can try?
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 05-16-2019, 12:59 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 640
Default Re: 2019.5 is here!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyPicks View Post
All my systems, Mac and PC has screen jitter.
I've just gotten use to it.
And no, it's not been fixed in PT 2019.5 for me that is...
I only threw that out to AVID but they probably already know that.


no kidding ...it has been a year since and they have not fixed the jitter screen …..I guess they will never fix it...
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05-16-2019, 03:47 PM
the19thbear the19thbear is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 200
Default 2019.5 is here!!

Noise, press down N while launching pt. It will then let you select playback device. Happens sometimes.
No need to reinstall


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 05-16-2019, 06:10 PM
mikeyman's Avatar
mikeyman mikeyman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: L.A.
Posts: 640
Default Re: 2019.5 is here!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuyPicks View Post
Still see the jittery screen when playing or recording in both my Mac systems and also on a windows 10 system. Had that before the update to 2019.5 too.
Just throwing these things out to try to help AVID. Hopefully.
I run 3 other DAWs on my systems because of my work and have zero problems with them.
I turned my PC on today with PT's 2018.10 and it was not jittering.Maybe it has to do with a plugin. Ill install 2019.5 and see how it goes
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 05-16-2019, 11:40 PM
noiseboyuk noiseboyuk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,089
Default Re: 2019.5 is here!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by the19thbear View Post
Noise, press down N while launching pt. It will then let you select playback device. Happens sometimes.
No need to reinstall


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks - I did actually try that but it was still getting stuck. A reinstall didn’t help, and trashing prefs actually made things worse, it wouldn’t scan the plugins without crashing. I then remembered I’d already encountered exactly this once last year, essentially a total system collapse out of the blue. The solution then was to reinstall then remove all plugins, then close and put them back in. It’s pretty convoluted. I’m going to try one other possible shortcut.

Will likely start a new thread on this for future forum searchers once I’m out the other side, it’s a really vicious little “feature” that a perfectly fine and stable rig can one day fall apart before your very eyes, and all the obvious steps to take actually appears to make you sink deeper into the quicksand. I well remember that feeling last year with a pressing deadline bearing down on me.

EDIT - resolved, new thread here regarding this issue http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p...26#post2526126 . Worth making the point that this isn't a specific 2019.5 issue, it's common to multiple versions of Pro Tools.
__________________
Guy Rowland
www.guyrowland.co.uk

PT 2018HD; W10 Pro; i7 7820X; 64gb RAM; RME Babyface; UAD Quad Satellite USB; GTX 1050i

Last edited by noiseboyuk; 05-17-2019 at 01:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NAB and Connect 2019 Avid General Announcements 0 04-14-2019 10:08 AM
Looks like at least 2019 before new Mac Pro K Roche Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 3 04-19-2018 06:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com