Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2006, 05:38 PM
dmuckala dmuckala is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 23
Default midi sustain pedal messages bug

is anyone else having sustain pedal message problems when recording midi? Particularly with piano sounds, noticing it today with rewire.
Pt 7.1 cs9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2006, 08:46 PM
dmuckala dmuckala is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 23
Default Re: midi sustain pedal messages bug

anyone? It's an intermittent problem, every once in a while notes just cut off. I've actually noticed it with all instruments, RTAS and other.
Not sure about external midi though. Happens primarily when playing it in, but also gets recorded.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2006, 12:12 AM
ronwasserman's Avatar
ronwasserman ronwasserman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,850
Default Re: midi sustain pedal messages bug

No problem here. Did extensive piano midi stuff today. Not a single sustain glitch.

Yamaha cp33 controller with the Yamaha sustain pedial. Using USB for midi.
__________________
Ron Wasserman
http://www.ronw.com
http://www.imdb.me/ronwasserman
http://www.fishertheband.com
Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.5 GHz 6-core Intel Xeon E5 - 32 GB Ram / 1TB Flash Storage - Avid HD I/O - Latest Mac OS - HDX3 - Latest PT Version.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2006, 12:28 AM
dmuckala dmuckala is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 23
Default Re: midi sustain pedal messages bug

thanks ron. went in and disable and filtered all ports and midi that weren't my controller. we'll see if that does the trick.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2006, 11:06 PM
dmuckala dmuckala is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 23
Default Re: midi sustain pedal messages bug

i've now talked to 2 other users here in nashville who have seen this problem. Is nobody on this forum using protools for midi???? I find this hard to believe.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2006, 09:50 AM
JGuth JGuth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 425
Default Re: midi sustain pedal messages bug

Are you sure it's a sustain pedal problem? Have you looked at the controller window to see? I've had an intermittant problem w Ivory where notes cut off when held even just from the keyboard on input. It seems to be not streaming from disk perhaps and only playing the part of the note in ram-just my guess. Anyway, reloading the session usually clears this.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2006, 09:58 AM
Steve@ZooWest Steve@ZooWest is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: North Indianapolis
Posts: 391
Default Re: midi sustain pedal messages bug

I have had intermittent sustain pedal issues of this nature. It usually happens when I'm using a few instances of EWQLSO platinum - which uses a lot of juice and quarrels with PT. It acts as though the sustain pedal has a bad connection, although that is not the case. My piano is Ivory - I'm not home at the moment, so can't tell you the version. It's not frequent enough to be much of a bother.

I'm 6.9 on a Dual 1.8 Mac, 10.3.7.
__________________
"Modern manufactured music is like art they sell at a furniture store."

http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/
http://www.weddingmusicproject.com/w...music-samples/
http://stevemillikan.com/

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2006, 10:39 AM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Parrish fl. usa
Posts: 720
Default Re: midi sustain pedal messages bug

have the same problem...posted before about it..especially when punching in on midi tracks.
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-14-2006, 11:07 PM
dmuckala dmuckala is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nashville
Posts: 23
Default Re: midi sustain pedal messages bug

'bad connection' is a GREAT description of the problem. What's going on? This renders midi completely useless, especially when you're trying to cut a piano track. How are people getting work done? Are there just a few with this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-15-2006, 07:27 AM
mixer mixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Parrish fl. usa
Posts: 720
Default Re: midi sustain pedal messages bug

i have found myself re-drawing sustain control automation..especially on punched piano tracks..really a pain..have had the problem since 7.0..i am using all digi products midi ios..i really wish they would look at this..and now there are not just a few..i work at 3 other studios ...the only one that doesn't have this problem is an old mix system. the others all 7.0 hd or higher show this bug..
__________________
www.garyvandy.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Midi Controller Sustain Pedal BuzzsawWhitey MIDI 5 02-04-2012 10:15 AM
Midi sustain pedal question Burst2flame Pro Tools 9 1 11-17-2010 01:21 AM
Sustain Pedal Midi Keyboard Matt Darcy General Discussion 1 01-22-2009 08:48 AM
MIDI Sustain Pedal? rockwithrespect 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 12-28-2005 05:47 PM
Setting Up Midi Sustain Pedal cuethevocals 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-07-2005 11:35 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com