Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | Control

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-12-2017, 11:16 AM
85Flares 85Flares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 5
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

EUCONTROL 3.6.1 CRASHING.

I've reinstalled
I've removed prefs
I've installed older versions.
I used to be able to at least get into the EUControl but now I've just got the wheel of doom.
HELP?

iMac 2013 intel
Sierra 10.12.6
Pro Tools 11
Artist Control (4 faders)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-12-2017, 11:56 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 859
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

Did you do this ? http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...nstall-for-Mac
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-12-2017, 12:57 PM
85Flares 85Flares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 5
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

Just tried that as well, with a few different versions of the software. So far 3.6.1 opens and crashes immediately, and 3.3.2 has been slightly stable, even with the clean installs. I've actually gotten to the 'add surface' a few times, and then when I go to 'update firmware' i get the "unable to connect to the unit named MC Control."

Honestly. it's pretty bizarre how unstable these euphonic programs have been today. I can't really believe it. Am I missing something? My PT system runs flawless w/ apollo twin and an extra 8 from UA 4-710D with optical.

Most of them opened and were immediately unresponsive.

sigh.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-12-2017, 01:27 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 859
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

I think if you look at other posts the latest EuControl releases are pretty stable. I would look at your network and how that is configured and connected. Can you let me know how it is setup ?
I would check/change out your Ethernet cables first.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-12-2017, 01:48 PM
85Flares 85Flares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 5
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

I don't think it's the ethernet cable because that's been my cable from the computer to the wall for some time now, and it's working great.

I'm aware that some people are finding it stable, but I'm just saying that it's solid beachballs on my system. All day. It's really been weird. My network wouldn't be the reason for EuControl to be crashing all day would it?

I really appreciate the help here. and would love to get the artist control up and running, but their software just really doesn't like my computer.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-12-2017, 02:06 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 859
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

Quote:
Originally Posted by 85Flares View Post
My network wouldn't be the reason for EuControl to be crashing all day would it?
Totally and is usually the reason. EuControl is in constant communication over the network and if there's a problem (delays, missed messages) this causes hangs.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-12-2017, 04:32 PM
85Flares 85Flares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 5
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

Two different ethernet cables.
Made the connection static.
Tried four different versions of EuControl.
Restarted my computer.
Clean installed.
I can see that the ethernet connection to the artist control is green.
If my network is the issue, than please instruct on what I could possibly do next?

It seems rather odd to design something that opens itself, and then crashes if it can't connect to the hardware? I dunno, maybe it's something on my mac. Maybe it's the hardware itself. I bought from Amazon, but through a used vendor. Might have to send it on back, and try something else.

Thanks for your time today.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-12-2017, 07:56 PM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 859
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

Are you connecting directly 1:1 or through a router ?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-13-2017, 11:55 AM
85Flares 85Flares is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 5
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

He Eddie! I'm connecting 1:1. At this point I've got it boxed up and have the white flag out, walking sadly back towards my mouse.

Curious if there's a way to test the controller itself?

Last edited by 85Flares; 09-13-2017 at 12:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-14-2017, 09:33 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 859
Default Re: Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable

There's no way to test the controller's connection, unfortunately. When you say you set it to fixed IP, this was both in the Mix and the Workstation right? Also when bouncing between software versions like you're doing it's very important to do the clean EUCON each time.

I think the next test would be to try on a different computer and if that doesn't work assume you have a bad unit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eucontrol v3.6.1 Now Avialable EddieJones Artist Series 5 07-22-2017 12:43 AM
EuControl 3.4 mbryan67 Pro Tools | Control 5 05-27-2016 02:23 PM
What does EuControl W/S do? maunaloa Pro Tools | S3 6 04-24-2015 06:37 PM
EuControl Trazan Artist Series 3 12-13-2011 01:57 PM
Eucontrol 2.6.2 out robertg Artist Series 22 11-07-2011 01:11 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com