Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2009, 10:36 AM
Shanegrla Shanegrla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 167
Default Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

Hi everybody,
I'm looking to get PT 8 and I need to update to Leopard, so I wanted to backup my system drive first like they say to do using CCC (the plan is to b/up the system drive to my external Glyph drive, the one I put all my PT sessions on). So I'm just about to hit Go when I see a little note at the bottom of the screen that scares me a little bit:

Items on "Glyph" will be overwritten by items at the same path on "Macintosh HD".

Does this mean it will erase everything on my Glyph drive (including all my sessions) and replace it with the copy of my system drive? Do I need to be doing this on an empty external hard drive? I hope not. I don't wanna be spending another couple hundred bucks on a new drive just for a backup. I'd rather be spending my money on ProTools goodies, etc.

Sorry, I'm not a genius when it comes to computer terminology. Maybe someone can clarify this for me? Thanks.
__________________
iMac 21.5" (2017) Intel Core i7 3.6GHz, 1TB SSD, 32GB RAM
PreSonus Quantum 2 interface
Mac OSX 10.15.6 Catalina
1 G-Drive Pro 4 TB
2 G-Drive 4 TB
ProTools 2019.9.1
Melodyne 4.2.4
Soundtoys Bundle 5.3.2
Omnisphere 2.6.2
Massey L2007
Superior Drummer 2.3.2
Komplete 11 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2009, 10:43 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

Yes - create a new partition large enough for the clone or use a new drive.

Backup the drive before repartitioning.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2009, 10:50 AM
Shanegrla Shanegrla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 167
Default Re: Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

Can I create a partition when I already have stuff on it? Or should I copy all the Glyph files onto my Mac HD first and then partition?
__________________
iMac 21.5" (2017) Intel Core i7 3.6GHz, 1TB SSD, 32GB RAM
PreSonus Quantum 2 interface
Mac OSX 10.15.6 Catalina
1 G-Drive Pro 4 TB
2 G-Drive 4 TB
ProTools 2019.9.1
Melodyne 4.2.4
Soundtoys Bundle 5.3.2
Omnisphere 2.6.2
Massey L2007
Superior Drummer 2.3.2
Komplete 11 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2009, 10:52 AM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

There are some utilities out there to let you repartition without losing data.. but I wouldn't risk it.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-23-2009, 01:36 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,624
Default Re: Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

In Carboncopycloner, under "target", you should create a new disk image on the glyph. Not just select the glyph, that will erase everything.
IHTH
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six core i5 3.0 gHz, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2009, 02:23 PM
Shanegrla Shanegrla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 167
Default Re: Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

Sorry, I don't really know what that means. Could you please explain? What exactly is a "disk image"?
__________________
iMac 21.5" (2017) Intel Core i7 3.6GHz, 1TB SSD, 32GB RAM
PreSonus Quantum 2 interface
Mac OSX 10.15.6 Catalina
1 G-Drive Pro 4 TB
2 G-Drive 4 TB
ProTools 2019.9.1
Melodyne 4.2.4
Soundtoys Bundle 5.3.2
Omnisphere 2.6.2
Massey L2007
Superior Drummer 2.3.2
Komplete 11 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2009, 02:40 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,624
Default Re: Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shanegrla View Post
Sorry, I don't really know what that means. Could you please explain? What exactly is a "disk image"?
It's just a file containing all the data from your disk.
It can be mounted later and will then show up as if it was a real disk.

Your goal is to backup your disk before you upgrade and install stuff, so you want to create a read-only disk image. Uncheck the "segment" option.

By the way, you were very smart to stop at the point you did.

But don't worry. Create the disk image, save it to the glyph, and back up, or "clone" as it says in CCC (make shure there is enough room on the glyph), then if something gets screwed up, you can restore the entire disk from the disk image.

Good luck.
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner. Retired.
Mac Mini 2018, six core i5 3.0 gHz, 32 gb RAM.
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8 and iPad w/Avid Control.
Pro Tools 2020.11, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-23-2009, 03:01 PM
Shanegrla Shanegrla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 167
Default Re: Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

Gotcha. Thanks.
__________________
iMac 21.5" (2017) Intel Core i7 3.6GHz, 1TB SSD, 32GB RAM
PreSonus Quantum 2 interface
Mac OSX 10.15.6 Catalina
1 G-Drive Pro 4 TB
2 G-Drive 4 TB
ProTools 2019.9.1
Melodyne 4.2.4
Soundtoys Bundle 5.3.2
Omnisphere 2.6.2
Massey L2007
Superior Drummer 2.3.2
Komplete 11 Ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-23-2009, 03:35 PM
Rail Jon Rogut Rail Jon Rogut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 14,490
Default Re: Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

It's not a bootable partition though.. which I recommend for your backup. That way if something's wrong with your new install you can hold down the Option key when you boot up and choose to startup off the old partition.

Rail
__________________
Platinum Samples
www.platinumsamples.com
Engineered Drums for BFD
••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-23-2009, 05:16 PM
mindnoise mindnoise is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Germany and Tokyo
Posts: 3,094
Default Re: Question about Carbon Copy Cloner

As the note says:
identical items with identical paths will be overwritten.
CCC does a File by File Cloning not a Block by Block Cloning (HardDisk Image)

So you don't need to backup the target, effectively.


if you are still unsure read the excellent manuals of CCC.
The copy will be bootable, also which is really convenient.

BTW: you should ALWAYS have a back of you session files.
__________________
last: PT11.3.1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon Copy Cloner (or sim) copy Disk Authorisations? Jon_Atkinson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 10-07-2009 08:11 PM
Carbon Copy Cloner question WildHoney Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 01-05-2009 08:49 AM
Is Carbon Copy Cloner the answer? jlcnyc 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-15-2004 10:55 AM
New boot drive in OSX with Carbon Copy Cloner? Chris Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 11-15-2004 10:17 PM
Carbon Copy Cloner joepopp Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 17 12-08-2003 11:25 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com