Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-26-2005, 07:23 PM
jlo1182 jlo1182 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: new mexico,US
Posts: 29
Default Does LE sound differnt than HD

Does LE sound differnt than HD?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-26-2005, 07:51 PM
CanadaMusic CanadaMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 54
Default Re: Does LE sound differnt than HD

One difference is in the 192khz sampling Rate of HD. The 002 and Mbox have a maximum sampling rate of 96khz (DVD audio spec) but the HD systems can run with 192 I/O's at sampling rates of 192khz which can allow for clearer imaging, most noticeably in the higher frequency bands. The nyquist theorem states that the sampling rate has to be at least double that of our audible peaks of hearing (20Khz) to prevent recognizable aliasing and that was accomplished with the 44.1khz cd audio spec. DVD audio moved that spec to 96khz and now Pro Tools HD doubled the sampling rate of DVD audio so it's audio at it's highest definition in HD TDM.

Another difference is that the A/D conversion within the TDM 192 I/O's will be superior to that of the LE interfaces. Don't get me wrong, LE can produce professional results with it's high bitrate and sample resolution but TDM takes it a step further.

To answer your question directly : Yes, TDM can produce better sounding results, especially to the trained ear (engineers, producers and audiophiles).

Hope this has helped...
Take Care
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-26-2005, 08:52 PM
roberts roberts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Ont
Posts: 2,438
Default Re: Does LE sound differnt than HD

Yes, You don't get the juicy Plug-ins in RTAS. For example MDW EQ - Which is the best EQ in Protools period.
I have compared sessions direct with the Same Plu-ins LE VS HD
HD sounds better.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-26-2005, 11:19 PM
deepfrequencies deepfrequencies is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 22
Default Re: Does LE sound differnt than HD

Unfortunately the mbox does not support 96 kHz audio.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:14 AM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,778
Default Re: Does LE sound differnt than HD

Quote:
Does LE sound differnt than HD?
Of course LE and HD sound different. I mean it has too, right? You would be insane to spend $20K on an HD system if it didn't sound better.

In fact just the other day I heard some pop rock tune on the radio and thought to myself, "MAN!!, that sounds bad! It MUST have been recorded in LE."

Everytime I go to the school and work on a session on the HD rig there and then bring it home to work on some more, it's like someone is scraping old rusty nails agains a chalk board. Seriously, it takes me about three days of listening to LE to froget how good HD sounds.

__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.5

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-27-2005, 01:30 AM
sinnic sinnic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 51
Default Re: Does LE sound differnt than HD

You should do a mix of a tune on an LE system, without using any inserts/effects (only level and panning), and bounce it.

Then bring the whole session over to a HD system. Open it up, and do another bounce of the mix without changing any levels or panning. Theoretically it should be the same mix, but uses TDM power for summing.

Then bring both mixes into a new session, and phase align them up. AudioSuite Invert one of the mixes, have each track going to the same output, and bounce it to see if they cancel each other out perfectly.

And if they don't, A/B them to see which sounds better. I think that's the only way you'll find out.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:09 AM
Wolfgang Eller Wolfgang Eller is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,098
Default Re: Does LE sound differnt than HD

Quote:
Then bring both mixes into a new session, and phase align them up.
OK but the new session in HD or LE or even in a non Digi system?

Cheers Wolfgang
__________________
www.srs-mastering.de
Mac Pro 6.1-8core, OS 10.15, PT2020, HDX2, Sonnet Echo Express III-R, Madi Interface.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-27-2005, 08:24 AM
jordi jordi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: Does LE sound differnt than HD

It is just a question of resolution in the bus suming. TDM (HD systems) is 48bit while LE is just 32bit like ost of other DAWs like Cubase or Logic. Even without plugs on it a mix will always sound better in TDM. Of course TDM plug-ins like Massenburg help to increase the difference...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-27-2005, 02:48 PM
Hank5 Hank5 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: New York
Posts: 269
Default Re: Does LE sound differnt than HD

I think so. I upgraded from a digi 001 to HD1. I noticed a less smeared stereo image. I would attribute that to a more stable internal clock and the overall power of TDM. It's truly a pro system. That's not to say that you can't turn out great projects on a lesser system though.

www.brownstonerecordingstudio.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-27-2005, 03:00 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,820
Default Re: Does LE sound differnt than HD

Quote:
I think so. I upgraded from a digi 001 to HD1. I noticed a less smeared stereo image. I would attribute that to a more stable internal clock and the overall power of TDM.
is that the sound of the SOFTWARE? or the D/A HARDWARE?
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audacity Sound, Reaper Sound, Pro Tools NO SOUND RoganX Pro Tools 10 3 03-18-2012 10:06 PM
differnt megaherz rates..44k..48k..96k barry1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 05-18-2011 10:30 PM
differnt waverform zooms in one session? murks macOS 4 04-27-2011 05:40 AM
Differnt motherbaord with SAME chipset? GA-7VT600 Shaun.b 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-09-2004 04:57 AM
Import Plugins onto tracks from differnt sessions? Matt Whritenour 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 01-23-2004 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com