Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2013, 08:53 AM
keithl keithl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 523
Default Co-installation of Pro Tools 10/11 on Windows 8.1

I recently read the "read me" for Pro Tools 11.1 and was surprised to read this:

"Pro Tools 10.3.6 is the first version of Pro Tools 10 that supports installation on the same system with Pro Tools 11.1. Co-installation is not supported for Windows 8.1"

I was going to install a fresh OS drive with Windows 8.1 on it, along with PT 10/11. I know there is a difference between "supported" and "works". Does any users out there have PT10/11 both working on a Windows 8.1 machine? Are there any issues?

If PT 10/11 cannot co-exist on Windows 8.1, it really defeats the purpose of upgrading to 11, because if for some reason I have to fall back because of something not working, or needing to open up a session that uses RTAS plugins, I would need to use Pro Tools 10.

I have my Mbox Pro, Windows 8.1, a hard drive, and PT 10/11....figure I would ask the DUC before going ahead with the new install!

Thanks for your help,
Keith
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-23-2013, 09:24 AM
AudioEngineer591 AudioEngineer591 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NY
Posts: 25
Default Re: Co-installation of Pro Tools 10/11 on Windows 8.1

Yes it works on Windows 8.1 with no issues. I use Pro Tools 10.3.8 and 11.1. Make sure you install in this order:

Pro Tools 10.3.8
Virtual Instruments 10, than
Pro Tools 11.1 and lastly
Air Creative Collection 11.1
__________________

AVID Pro Tools 12.2
Windows 10 Pro
Intel i7-4800MQ @3.7GHz
GTX870M 3GB
32GB DDR3L-1600
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-23-2013, 10:42 AM
keithl keithl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 523
Default Re: Co-installation of Pro Tools 10/11 on Windows 8.1

thanks..that's good to know. Appreciate your response!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-25-2013, 08:54 PM
JlMMY JlMMY is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 9
Default Re: Co-installation of Pro Tools 10/11 on Windows 8.1

When I upgraded from Windows 8 to 8.1 I lost access to the Command 8, other than that PT 11 was up and running. Not ready to give up the Command 8 so I used my Acronis image to roll back to Win 8 for now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installation of Pro Tools 10 on a Windows 8, 64 bit computer mccoyrare@yahoo.com Pro Tools 10 2 09-09-2013 11:16 AM
pro tools 7.0 installation disc and windows 7? lucas9107 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-15-2010 01:33 PM
Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit Ian31 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 14 05-31-2010 03:02 PM
Installation problem - Pro Tools L.E. 8 using Windows XP cocochenelle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-24-2009 10:58 PM
Can Pro Tools be run WITHOUT windows installation? Ramsau1972 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 05-18-2005 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com