Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 08-28-2010, 02:52 PM

Default Should I invest in Pro Tools?

I'm a freelance video editor, primarily working in FCP (and to a lesser extent, Avid). Audio is not my specialty, nor do I have a whole lot of talent for it.

Nevertheless, it's quickly becoming a one-man-band world out there for editors, and I'm being asked to clean and sweeten audio more and more often. I've used Pro Tools in the past and found it a very robust tool, a pleasure to work with, as opposed to Soundtrack Pro, which I currently use as it's bundled with Final Cut Studio. But despite it's clunkiness, STP gets the job done most of the time. It tightly integrates with FCP, and of course, it's free with the Studio package. Pro Tools entails not only the cost of entry, but software AND hardware upgrades in the future. Though this is slightly offset by the fact that the MBOX is high-quality USB audio interface with or without PT.

I guess my question is, based on my concerns and your own experiences, is Pro Tools a worthy investment for someone like me?

Thanks so much for your thoughts.
Old 08-28-2010, 03:21 PM

Default Re: Should I invest in Pro Tools?

Once would ask why your paying clients are asking a video editor to handle audio cleanup and mixing? I know that it's unfortunate today that we all must start to co-specialize in a few different trades, but being efficient and turning out a great product as a one man show is probably not going to happen that easily - or effectively.