Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-30-2010, 02:09 PM
Ian31 Ian31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burbank
Posts: 6
Default Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

Hi Everyone,

Been trying to install this software for a few hours now.
I currently installed windows 7 64bit version. I installed the driver for the M- Audio MobilePre USB and also registered the Pro Tools M-Powered 8.03 as well as the ilok registration.

Now every time i run the installation cd from M-Powered package it gives me an error setup.exe is not vaid win 32 application. I googled and searched forums as much as possible to try and find a fix but no luck. I see a few ppl have installed M powered version on windows 7 so any help on this would help alot please
Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-30-2010, 03:17 PM
Digi_D Digi_D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 13
Default Re: Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

Hi there, how are you running the install? Letting Windows auto-run it, double clicking the on the DVD/CD drive, or opening the drive and double clicking the setup.exe file? Does the error pop up immediately or during installation? Do you have another Windows (any version) computer at your disposal? If you do, can you pop the DVD in there and see if the installer will run? This shouldn't be related to the drivers or iLok registration.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-30-2010, 03:34 PM
Ian31 Ian31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burbank
Posts: 6
Default Re: Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digi_D View Post
Hi there, how are you running the install? Letting Windows auto-run it, double clicking the on the DVD/CD drive, or opening the drive and double clicking the setup.exe file? Does the error pop up immediately or during installation? Do you have another Windows (any version) computer at your disposal? If you do, can you pop the DVD in there and see if the installer will run? This shouldn't be related to the drivers or iLok registration.
Hi, i go into my computer and double click on the D: drive and run it from there. A window with Pro Tools installation pops up and i have tried installing it there. I have also tried going in to the folder and right clicking on setup.exe and setting the file compatability to windows xp version sp3 and ran setup.exe from the folder. Same error message comes up invalid setup.exe not a valid win 32 application and no i dont have another version of windows i can try. I jus recently upgraded mine from xp to windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-30-2010, 03:52 PM
Digi_D Digi_D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 13
Default Re: Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

Are you able to install other software? What about copying files off of other discs or playback of CDs or DVDs? It is probably one of three issues, a bad disc, a bad DVD/CD drive, or a broken Windows Installer setup. Apologies for all the questions, but it will help narrow it down.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-30-2010, 04:02 PM
Ian31 Ian31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burbank
Posts: 6
Default Re: Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

Yes i used another cd to install another program and i have recently transfered a few files from a cd copy to the pc, not sure about windows installs. I can try and install it again and try windows 7 32 bit instead of 64 if that would make a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-30-2010, 04:35 PM
kafka kafka is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 131
Default Re: Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

You could, if you had a copy of Win7-32. However, you'd be foregoing all of the advantages of going to Win-7 in the first place. A lot of people, including myself, are running PTMP 8 on Win7-64 successfully. There has to be something with how you have Win7 set up.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-30-2010, 04:38 PM
Julia B Julia B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 303
Default Re: Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

Hmmm... I'm wondering. Will PT 8 install from the disk with Windows 7 64 bit if the disk isn't MP-PT 8.0.3?
__________________
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad Q6600 2.40GHz
IDC : 4x 32kB, Synch, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte
L2 : 2x 4MB, ECC, Synch, ATC, 16-way, 64 byte line sz, 2 thds sh

Mainboard: DFI Inc. INF P35-R
BIOS : Phx Tech, LTD 6.00 PG 03/11/2008
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
MP APIC : Y
Tot Mem : 3.25GB DIMM DDR2 (WinXP)

Chipset: Intel P35/G33/G31 Proc
Front Side Bus Spd : 4x 266MHz
Mem Bus Spd : 2x 399MHz

(C:) : (250GB, SATA, 8MB Cache)
(D:) : (250GB, SATA, 8MB Cache)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-30-2010, 04:41 PM
Digi_D Digi_D is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 13
Default Re: Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian31 View Post
Yes i used another cd to install another program and i have recently transfered a few files from a cd copy to the pc, not sure about windows installs. I can try and install it again and try windows 7 32 bit instead of 64 if that would make a difference?
I do not believe it would make much of a difference, I'm running on Win 7 x64. Sounds to me like there is a disc problem. If you've installed other programs and successfully ran and copied other data with the DVD drive, then the disc is a likely candidate. Maybe a look in the event viewer would reveal some more info. Open your start menu, and in the search bar type Event Viewer and hit enter. This will bring up a program with some folders on the left-hand side. Double click Windows Log and then single click Application. See if there are any Errors that coincide with the time you tried to install. Do the same with System.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-30-2010, 06:50 PM
Ian31 Ian31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burbank
Posts: 6
Default Re: Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

Thanks for all the replys everyone. I will try and do another format of windows 7. This isnt a copy jic if you guys were wondering. just bought it from frys electronics the pro. version not ultimate.

As far as the event viewer there has been multi errors and it shows it with source Bounjour Service, might that be the one? That is the only one with alot of errors showing
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2010, 07:09 PM
Julia B Julia B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 303
Default Re: Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit

What the hell is Bonjour Serrvice?

Computers that come from those store usually have a bunch of crap on them you don't want, need, or will ever use. I'd almost be tempted to reformat the hard drive and reinstall the OS clean.
__________________
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad Q6600 2.40GHz
IDC : 4x 32kB, Synch, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte
L2 : 2x 4MB, ECC, Synch, ATC, 16-way, 64 byte line sz, 2 thds sh

Mainboard: DFI Inc. INF P35-R
BIOS : Phx Tech, LTD 6.00 PG 03/11/2008
Bus(es) : ISA X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB i2c/SMBus
MP APIC : Y
Tot Mem : 3.25GB DIMM DDR2 (WinXP)

Chipset: Intel P35/G33/G31 Proc
Front Side Bus Spd : 4x 266MHz
Mem Bus Spd : 2x 399MHz

(C:) : (250GB, SATA, 8MB Cache)
(D:) : (250GB, SATA, 8MB Cache)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Co-installation of Pro Tools 10/11 on Windows 8.1 keithl Pro Tools 11 3 12-25-2013 08:54 PM
Installation of Pro Tools 10 on a Windows 8, 64 bit computer mccoyrare@yahoo.com Pro Tools 10 2 09-09-2013 11:16 AM
pro tools 7.0 installation disc and windows 7? lucas9107 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-15-2010 01:33 PM
Installation problem - Pro Tools L.E. 8 using Windows XP cocochenelle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-24-2009 10:58 PM
Can Pro Tools be run WITHOUT windows installation? Ramsau1972 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 05-18-2005 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:06 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com