Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2006, 09:06 PM
Doctor M Doctor M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 11
Default Optimizing Windows XP installation for Pro Tools?

When doing a fresh install of Windows XP Pro on PCs for Audio work, I have always selected 'standard PC' as opposed to an 'ACPI-PC'. Is this best for Pro Tools LE 7 as well?

Any other tips on how to optimize a new Windows XP Pro installation for Pro Tools Le 7?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-07-2006, 11:14 AM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: Optimizing Windows XP installation for Pro Tools?

1. Create hardware profiles where you disable certain devices you dont need when Win Xp starts up.

2. Go to admin services and turn off the ones you don't need running.

3. Convert audio drive to Fat32 to 64k clusters

4. Set pro tools to highest priority. ( everytime )

5. 16 million colors in video setting.

6. Classic view on XP

Some stuff I have done.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-07-2006, 09:43 PM
westcoast101 westcoast101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 72
Default Re: Optimizing Windows XP installation for Pro Too

So using Fat32 with 64k clusters provides better performance that a standard NTFS format?

-WC
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-08-2006, 01:25 PM
casperfun casperfun is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 489
Default Re: Optimizing Windows XP installation for Pro Too

hmmm good point on the clusters, that was during the Win 98 days.

With 200-500 gig hard drives being the norm.

The NTFS with 64k clusters would provide the best performance. New better system logically better.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Co-installation of Pro Tools 10/11 on Windows 8.1 keithl Pro Tools 11 3 12-25-2013 08:54 PM
pro tools 7.0 installation disc and windows 7? lucas9107 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 09-15-2010 01:33 PM
Please Help, Pro Tools installation on Windows 7 64 bit Ian31 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 14 05-31-2010 03:02 PM
Installation problem - Pro Tools L.E. 8 using Windows XP cocochenelle 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-24-2009 10:58 PM
Can Pro Tools be run WITHOUT windows installation? Ramsau1972 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 05-18-2005 02:32 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com