Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Avid S6

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-15-2019, 11:16 AM
Juan Garcia Juan Garcia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mexico
Posts: 43
Default Xmon losing connection

Greetings,

I get frequent disconnects from the XMON once or twice a day. Does anyone have ideas on why might this happen? Normally just resetting the app resolves the issue but some other time I have to reboot the whole WSCONTROL and then the XMON app and reconfirm the MIDI port.

The XMON USB cable passes through a 3 meter USB extension and then to the computer. I don't know if this causes an issue with a potential loss of power.

Hope you guys have any input on possible causes and solutions.

Thanks,
J.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-15-2019, 11:39 AM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 758
Default Re: Xmon losing connection

Greetings,

I would keep an eye out in Audio MIDI Setup (MIDI) on your workstation if you see the icon for the MIDI interface the XMON is using ghosting out and returning. If so, you need to troubleshoot your MIDI interface:

Remove extensions.
Try a different USB port.
Try a powered USB hub.
Swap out the MIDI interface for an alternate.


best,


Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-15-2019, 03:13 PM
Juan Garcia Juan Garcia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mexico
Posts: 43
Default Re: Xmon losing connection

Hi Jeff,

I'll give a try with a different MIDI interface. We use the included USB to MIDI cable that came with the XMON, hence the USB extension.

Thanks for the input. I'll report back if something is still off.
J.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-15-2019, 05:08 PM
creativecontrol's Avatar
creativecontrol creativecontrol is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 758
Default Re: Xmon losing connection

Please do. Also - do a Get Info on your XMON app and let us know what the exact version is please. Thanks.


Jeff
__________________
Jeff Komar
Applications Specialist, Pro Audio
Avid
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-29-2019, 07:36 AM
Juan Garcia Juan Garcia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mexico
Posts: 43
Default Re: Xmon losing connection

Thanks Jeff.

I've changed to a dedicated MIDI interface and so far no problems whatsoever. Apparently the included USB2MIDI cable was not so trustworthy for us.

I'll report back if any changes occur.

Thanks,
J.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
96I/O, XMON, D-command connection sjtae Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 12 04-23-2017 11:06 PM
Mic Connection to Xmon or Omni asef@me.com Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 01-23-2015 04:59 PM
D-Command/XMON connection to interface DaleB ICON & C|24 2 04-17-2011 12:20 PM
XMon connection ? PTGuy ICON & C|24 0 11-27-2005 01:44 PM
My 002 keeps losing the connection partytrain 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-02-2004 02:03 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com