Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Other Products > Storage Subsystems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 06-03-2011, 05:33 AM
handersson handersson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 17
Default Re: Which External Hard Drive to Record with Pro Tools (Lacie, G-tech, OWC?)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ac30fan View Post
Would you guys mind posting your general level of satisfaction with your new drives after you've got them installed? Looking for some feedback since there's no response to a similar thread I posted.

Thx
Have just done some testing and believe it or not, Im having some issues with my Mercury On the Go! Don't know whats causing my -9073 errors since my whole system is updated. (New Mac, new 11r etc..) So I really have little to compare with since my last setup was completely different.

Woldn't wanna say that there is something wrong with the drive itself. It seems to be working just fine but my sessions plays far from flawlessly!

I have done everything right I guess so it kind makes me wonder what the hell is going on. Avid approved firewire chipset, approved Macbook, 11r interface (from Avid of which you manually have to import the I/O settings from every new session you create. But thats another story. Just extremely wierd that they don't have a fix for this on one of their own interfaces).

Im a bit frustrated since having alot of work ahead...

You can see my thread here:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=302156

Hoping someone from Avid will get in touch.

I'll report back!
__________________
http://www.handersson.se
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-04-2011, 06:21 AM
handersson handersson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 17
Default Re: Which External Hard Drive to Record with Pro Tools (Lacie, G-tech, OWC?)

Did some more testing...

I had to finish a session with a short deadline so the further I got in to the mixing part the more DAE 9073 and sudden crashes was going on. More strain on the cpu -> more errors!

My cpu only reached about 25% but at that time is was impossible to work.

I simply moved my whole session to my internal 5400rpm drive and that solved it! My initial guess is the lack of external power supply for the OTG.

So if you are thinking about OWC, go for the ALU Pro which is approved by Avid. I ordered one just now and am crossing my fingers for it work better.
__________________
http://www.handersson.se
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-04-2011, 11:24 AM
handersson handersson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Posts: 17
Default Re: Which External Hard Drive to Record with Pro Tools (Lacie, G-tech, OWC?)

I bought a power supply today and the on-the-go is working just fine. Will do some more testing but it seems ok.
The heavier the session the more strain on the Cpu so I guess there was not enough bus power left after maxing out with plugins.
__________________
http://www.handersson.se
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 06-24-2011, 08:51 AM
aka21stCentury aka21stCentury is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Loma Prieta Fault
Posts: 779
Default Re: Which External Hard Drive to Record with Pro Tools (Lacie, G-tech, OWC?)

Don't get the acrylic one. It's a piece of ****. Screws strip. Stick with OWC aluminum. Here is the link for Dulce Systems (hardware raid is ok, but spanning should be turned off, and if using PTs round robin, turn raid off). http://www.dulcesystems.com/html/products.html (don't know why B&H stopped carrying this brand, they now only sell CalDigit). Anyway B&H doesn't ship overseas and OWC does.

I've been using Firewire since the Oxford 911 chipset came out. IOWs 1.5 amps @ 5 volts (these are the 110/220 volt rectangular power supplies not the infamous wall wart) on the original aluminum OWC enclosure -- some of the newer OWC units have a direct AC input. (sorry 'bout my blurry vision it' mixed in with a ton of spaghetti) not .7 amps but 1.5 amps is suitable with the older and faster (more heat) WD drive I use frequently. The newer ones are above 7 in seek times, closer to 9, but require less power/produce less heat.

For location work I intend on using a 5,400 buss 1394a powered unit (the latest Seagate which I think may still be vs 12, but not sure as I only know about the 3.5 inch 7,200 rpm versions). Only need 4-7 channels at 48k. Vrs 12 Barracudas are low noise, low heat from my experience. Only buy from a reputable dealer if not in the retail box.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-15-2013, 08:40 AM
swingmanu swingmanu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Helsinki, finland
Posts: 9
Default Re: Which External Hard Drive to Record with Pro Tools (Lacie, G-tech, OWC?)

Oua this is an old post but the OWC i ordered worked great.
but now i use mainly a Western digital Usb powered drive. works like a charm !!

M
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 03-27-2015, 12:07 PM
mbauer1 mbauer1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 97
Default Re: Which External Hard Drive to Record with Pro Tools (Lacie, G-tech, OWC?)

To clarify, OWC just make enclosures, not the drives themselves, they'll sell whatever brand they choose.

I got the OWC thunderbay IV, a 4 bay thunderbolt interface.
It shipped with 7200rpm toshiba brand drives.

My personal experience is it's awesome. I have one at work and one at home personally. It's fast, quiet and so far reliable.

Much less expensive than some competitor options.

Note: Drive arrays are done as software arrays, there is no hardware array manager in their enclosures.

Awesome product, would recommend it.
Good luck in your choice.
__________________
Matt Bauer
www.bauer.net.au
E: matt@bauer.net.au
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 03-27-2015, 02:41 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Which External Hard Drive to Record with Pro Tools (Lacie, G-tech, OWC?)

Right. Important point.

List of current hard disk drive manufacturers:
Seagate Technology including its subsidiary brands Maxtor and Samsung.
Toshiba.
Western Digital including its subsidiary brand HGST.

Subject to change!

OWC, Glyph and Lacie don't make drives they make enclosures. So you can buy the drive you like and buy an enclosure from say OWC.

I like the WD Black and Hitachi drives.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 03-27-2015, 02:52 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Which External Hard Drive to Record with Pro Tools (Lacie, G-tech, OWC?)

Map of hard drive consolidation
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Diagram_of_Hard_Disk_Drive_Manufacturer_Consolidation.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	51.5 KB
ID:	3800  
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 003r with G-Tech external hard drive Bikarezza 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 03-24-2012 01:03 PM
How do I record onto an external hard drive? Sergeman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 06-04-2006 02:14 PM
another external hard drive question for digi tech phildeez247 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-22-2006 02:06 PM
Do you own a Lacie external hard drive? K.B. 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-18-2004 02:20 PM
Why is my LaCie external 80 gig, 7200 rpm firewire hard drive an invalid drive to be Fucius General Discussion 4 03-20-2002 12:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com