Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2018

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2019, 02:27 PM
diverseradio diverseradio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Kaneohe
Posts: 16
Default how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

after I convert to an audio file how do I put that file back into protools? I'd like to convert all of my songs into audio files like an mp3, put them all into a protools session, then master with Insight2 from Izotope to normalize all songs so they are all at the same volume level. Please tell me how to do this I am at a loss thank you for your time
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2019, 02:36 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 855
Default Re: how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

YouTube.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2019, 03:08 PM
Wizzoboy's Avatar
Wizzoboy Wizzoboy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 602
Default Re: how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

You shouldn't be mastering MP3s. They come after mastering. Start with the original WAV files. Either import the file into PT, or bounce down to a new track. Lots of tutorials on YT, it's also all in the manual.
__________________
Dell Precision 490 Workstation, dual 4 core 5355 Xeon, 16gb Samsung DDR2 ECC Ram - Windows 7 Ultimate - Nvidia GTX 650 - 3 x Internal WD Blacks - PT 2018.3 - Digi 002R - Original Mackie HUI - JBL Monitoring.
Dell XPS 8700 i7-4790 - 24gb RAM - Windows 10 - Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB - 2 x Internal WD Blacks + MSATA card - Davinci Resolve 16.0b7 - Canon HF G40
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2019, 02:26 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,738
Default Re: how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizzoboy View Post
You shouldn't be mastering MP3s.
That^^^^. And as bad an idea as that is at first glance, its actually a whole lot worse than you think. Why? Great question. Because, no only have you reduced the sonic quality by a huge factor, you also are converting the mp3 back into a wave file(assuming your "normalizing" session is using wave as the file format).


Keep the audio quality at the original settings as long as possible(if your song starts out at 24 bit/44.1K, keep it there until the very final stage).



As for "normalize", I bet what you really want is for all songs to sound louder than the mix-down(or Bounce to Disk) as well as having all songs sound similar in overall volume. But that's not really a function of the normalize process(or plugin). This is one of the chief functions of mastering. Maybe hit youtube.com and watch some tutorials on basic mastering so you can see(hear) the difference
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2019, 05:26 PM
diverseradio diverseradio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Kaneohe
Posts: 16
Default Re: how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

thank you for your time guys so I went on you tube and discovered the normalize function in my audio suite in pro tools but that alone didn't work (I caught one of your responses that that wouldn't work later oops).
found a so called trick you normalize then set gain at -6db and that didn't work. after much frustration I decided to just put all of my songs in one session and normalize then tweak the volume respectively for each song.
I have recently heard of iZOTOPE insight2 the price point is 199 so I want to make sure it does exactly what I want it to. after I put all my songs in a session then put iZOTOPE on the master track will I easily be able to have all volumes sound the same? I think I'm going to write another thread asking specifically if anyone used iZOTOPE insight2 for making songs all the same volume. Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2019, 08:04 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,632
Default Re: how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

As others have pointed out, further processing after a lossy conversion should be avoided at all costs - lossy conversion should always be the last step before delivery if required.

Insight is a metering plugin, not a processing plugin. While a good set of meters will provide important information about overall levels/peaks/etc, you need to set relative loudness by ear, and peak/rms normalizing is both unnecessary and ineffective for this particular task - a good limiter will be required if you're trying to reach commercial delivery levels; Izotope's Ozone, Fabfilter Pro-L2, DMG Limitless, Nugen's loudness suite are all good products, but you can do more harm than good with them (particularly Ozone) if you don't know what you're doing.

I think you need to learn more about the basics of digital audio (starting with the difference between various formats); I'd start with Bob Katz's "Mastering Audio".
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.

Last edited by Rich Breen; 02-07-2019 at 08:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2019, 10:39 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,529
Default Re: how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

The topic is so wrong guys... which is the one thing that OP wants to do:

1) normalize everything to same max dBFS, or
2) make all songs same loudness

If you normalize everything to -0.03dBFS (like they used to do in 80's) then I bet loudness is all over the place. So which is it
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-07-2019, 01:11 PM
Emi Emi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Madrid. Spain
Posts: 265
Default Re: how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

I want to drive a Ferrari at 250km/h but I don’t even have a driving license. Can you tell me how to do it?

Of course, start by applying to a driving school.
__________________
Mac Mini late 2012 i5 | Mac OS Mojave 10.14 | Motu 16A | Motu 828ES | Pro Tools 2019.6 Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2019, 04:53 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,265
Default Re: how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

Just use Maxim, the free plug in with Tools. Try watching this

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UI1X...&frags=pl%2Cwn

It'll do what you want and it won't cost you anything.

Disclaimer : I don't use Maxim.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2019, 06:13 AM
mandal mandal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norway, Mandal
Posts: 215
Default Re: how to normalize (same volume) all my songs

google "loudness" and "limiter" or click here:

https://youtu.be/BPUdiHEJ0EU
__________________
Win10 Home (64-bit), Native OMNI PCIe, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, i7 processor, 16GB RAM, Samsung SSD 840 EVO (system disk), Siemens SSD840 PRO (session disk), Dell 43" 4K LED P4317Q
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
uploading songs into Pro Tools from downloaded songs in iTunes? GMP 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 11-17-2009 09:52 PM
Set up seperate songs from string of songs in one recording Grainbelters 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-30-2008 10:16 PM
Normalize shameeta General Discussion 2 02-18-2004 09:41 PM
Getting all the songs at the same volume level. optymusblu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-05-2003 07:29 PM
consistent volume control on songs jimsmith 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-24-2002 07:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com