Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-26-2018, 11:11 AM
Michael_Knight Michael_Knight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Odenton MD
Posts: 91
Default No Sound with Digi 003 console

It appears that I lost sound through the Digi 003 and I can use a little bit of help. Sound was fine until I installed my Komplete Kontrol S88 MKII keyboard. I confirmed that sound works through the built in Realtek HD Soundcard. I reinstalled the last Digi 003 console driver and the driver appears to look ok in windows (I'm using windows 10 by the way) I upgraded to the latest version of pro tools.

I'm convinced this is a driver issue since I can't hear anything when choosing the Digi003 selected but can with the Realtek driver.. The volume levels are up on the 003 I can't hear sound through either my speakers or headphones.

Below is the Sandra Report:
SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Studio
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : Dell Studio XPS 8100
Serial Number : GGN****
Chassis : Dell Desktop
Mainboard : Dell 0G3HR7
Serial Number : ..CN7360*********
BIOS : Dell A05 07/08/2010
Intel vPro : 6.00.31.1208
Total Memory : 16GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 860 @ 2.80GHz (4C 8T 2.93GHz/3.46GHz, 2.4GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1156

Chipset
Memory Controller : Dell Core (Clarksfield/Lynnfield) DMI 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)
Memory Controller : Intel Core Desktop (Lynnfield) UnCore 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz), 2x 8GB DIMM DDR3 1.33GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : G.Skill F3-10666CL9-4GBRL 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-10700U DDR3-1334 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : SAMSUNG
(1600x1200, 7.2")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 240 (112SP SM4.0 1.62GHz, 1GB DDR3 2.2GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTS 240 (112SP 1.62GHz, 1GB DDR3 2.2GHz 256-bit)

Storage Devices
WDC WD1001FAES-75W7A0 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (C:)
WDC WD20EARX-00PASB0 (2TB, SATA300/600, 3.5") : 2TB (S:)
Seagate ST32000644NS (2TB, SATA300, 7200rpm) : 2TB (D:)
Generic- SD/MMC (USB2) : N/A (I:)
Generic- Compact Flash (USB2) : N/A (F:)
Generic- SM/xD-Picture (USB2) : N/A (G:)
Generic- MS/MS-Pro (USB2) : N/A (H:)
WIBU - CodeMeter-Stick (41.2MB, USB1) : 39MB (K:)
HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH30N (SATA150, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
RECOVERY : 11GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1001FAES-75W7A0 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Sounds (S:) : 2TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD20EARX-00PASB0 (2TB, SATA300/600, 3.5")
ProTools (D:) : 2TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST32000644NS (2TB, SATA300, 7200rpm)
CODEMETER (K:) : 39MB (FAT32, 512bytes) @ WIBU - CodeMeter-Stick (41.2MB, USB1)
OS (C:) : 921GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1001FAES-75W7A0 (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Removable Drive (I:) : N/A @ Generic- SD/MMC (USB2)
Removable Drive (F:) : N/A @ Generic- Compact Flash (USB2)
Removable Drive (G:) : N/A @ Generic- SM/xD-Picture (USB2)
Removable Drive (H:) : N/A @ Generic- MS/MS-Pro (USB2)
Optical Drive (E:) : N/A @ HL-DT-ST BD-RE BH30N (SATA150, BD-RE, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell H57 LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8720F
Audio Device : Dell P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Intel 2804
Disk Controller : Dell ICH8R (ICH8) SATA RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Dell P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : Renesas Tech uPD720201 USB 3.0 Host Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Avlab Technology XIO2200(A) IEEE-1394a-2000 Controller (PHY/Link)
FireWire/1394 Controller 2 : Dell VT6315 Series Firewire Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft Print To PDF (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Canon MX870 series Printer (Colour)
Printer : Canon MX870 series Printer (Colour)
Printer : Canon MX870 series Printer (Colour)
Printer : Canon MX870 series FAX (200x200)
Printer : Canon MX870 series FAX (200x200)
Printer : Canon MX870 series FAX (200x200)

Scanners and Cameras
Scanner : Microsoft MX870 series _68EF4C99269A (Scanner, USB)

Peripherals
Media Player : WIBU - CodeMeter-Stick (38.57MB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet (Ethernet, 1Gbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 10 Personal 10.00.17763
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-26-2018, 11:13 AM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,522
Default Re: No Sound with Digi 003 console

Hi and thanks for the detailed info .
Please check what playback device is selected by windows on the windows playback sound panel ?
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-26-2018, 11:59 AM
Michael_Knight Michael_Knight is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Odenton MD
Posts: 91
Default Re: No Sound with Digi 003 console

Hi Jeam,

The Digi 003 is selected. I was able to find out how to get the sound back and what's causing the issue.

First I found this RMA notice from Avid that said to check the Aux in buttons on the Digi 003.

"If you have speakers connected to the Main Outputs, make sure the following buttons are not engaged: Aux In, Alt CR, and Mute. This is also applicable to headphones."

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...rue&popup=true

Mine were active and following the above advice I was able to get the sound back. It seems the problem is when playing the Komplete Kontrol S88 MKII the keys are activating the buttons on the Digi 003. I'll create a new post so I don't mix the issue of the Kontrol keyoard activating the 003 with the no sound problem. Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-26-2018, 12:01 PM
jeam25's Avatar
jeam25 jeam25 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 2,522
Default Re: No Sound with Digi 003 console

Excellent ! Thanks for posting the solution ..
__________________
- Jesus Alvarado -

Keep the volume UP !
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-26-2018, 07:47 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: No Sound with Digi 003 console

Its a fairly universal Windows tweak to set Windows to NOT use your interface as its "Default Playback Device" in sound properties(there are plenty of other ways to get non-Pro Tools audio to play thru the 003 and/or your studio monitors)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
003 Console In From Repair But Now Another ISSUE! (Repeated Clicking Sound) WEIRD Cgbravo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 07-30-2011 01:05 AM
Weird Sound with 002 Console Last Rites Films 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-28-2011 02:56 AM
Digi 003 console, comand 8 or digi 003 rack plus boabyd23 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 11 04-28-2011 04:13 PM
No sound Digi 003 console - read other posts - in a crisis. musichouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 03-31-2011 08:15 PM
Please help! No sound out of my 003 console coca 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 02-16-2009 05:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com