Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-12-2009, 11:00 AM

Default Mastering headroom

Not quite appropriate for this forum, but I know there are lots of experienced peeps here.

The question is: how much headroom do you leave for mastering?

I've been using between 4 and 5 db below peak.

With anything above that, I find it difficult to get a solid, punchy sound without distortion. But then again, I'm no mastering engineer. So, is there a general consensus?

Thx.

- Wango

Don’t piss down my back and tell me it’s raining.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/defa...?bandID=851389
Old 06-12-2009, 11:32 AM

Default Re: Mastering headroom

I like mastering in my Masterlink, it's a great place to archive all of your finished products + it's easy to create playlist and listen in other environments then go back and make minor changes. I usually add between 4 to 7 db's of compression then set the output level to .10 (a 10th of a db before '0') then bring up the level in the limiter till it sounds very punchy, just to the brink of distortion, then maybe back it off a tad. Result? a professional sounding recording.
Old 06-12-2009, 11:40 AM

What is this Gearslutz now?

To answer your question, I'm usually between 3-5dB.
Old 06-12-2009, 11:47 AM

I let my music (final mixdown) peak at -18dBFS at all times, so that the mastering engineer can get them properly mastered.
-18dBFS is an AES recommendation. The world of video uses -20dBFS for instance.

Don't ask my why but the big tech guys have -18dBFS as a reference for a good reason.
Old 06-12-2009, 11:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MultiCore View Post