Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-02-2020, 12:59 PM
jseelye02 jseelye02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 50
Default 2020.3 High Sierra - Mac 5,1 - No Video playback

Anyone else having issues with their Mac 5,1 running High Sierra NOT playing back ANY QuickTime files after upgrading to 2020.3?

I've tried 4-5 codecs, they all import fine but won't show frames or playback (just a black screen).

Multiple restarts, updated codecs, etc...

I've been using the same machine with 2019.12 for a while with no issue, this all happened after the upgrade.

All the movie files I have open fine in QuickTime and MPEG Streamclip.

Anyone else?

I've downgraded to 2019.12, everything works fine right now with that, but I'd like to sort out 2020!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-2020, 03:41 PM
jseelye02 jseelye02 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 50
Default Re: 2020.3 High Sierra - Mac 5,1 - No Video playback

Solved it, adding it here in case someone else runs into this issue:

Go to /Library/Application Support/Avid/AVX2_Plug-ins and empty the contents of this folder if any.

Go to /Users/Shared/AvidVideoEngine and delete this folder.

Restart PT, works immediately.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-2020, 08:19 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,660
Default Re: 2020.3 High Sierra - Mac 5,1 - No Video playback

Thanks for the insight. Having similar problems on Win 10. I’ll give your suggestions a try tomorrow...nothing to lose, it already doesn’t work!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-27-2020, 03:25 PM
sw rec sw rec is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Colo Spgs Colo
Posts: 5,660
Default Re: 2020.3 High Sierra - Mac 5,1 - No Video playback

Avid tech support suggested that fix...when I tried it, Pro Tools wouldn’t launch. Had to reinstall PT. I have a tech support call scheduled for tomorrow morning, will let you know what we find.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2020.3 on Mac Pro 5.1, High Sierra? audioluche Pro Tools 2020 28 04-03-2020 01:56 PM
PT 2020 to require Mojave and drop High Sierra support? XJENSEN Pro Tools 2019 10 03-28-2020 11:54 AM
Video Card - Mac Pro High Sierra & Native Siegfried Meier Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 46 02-03-2019 02:26 PM
Question: Sierra or High Sierra for PTHD 2018.3? johnnyv Pro Tools 2018 25 03-18-2018 08:30 PM
12.8.2R2 on High Sierra TrentWilliams Pro Tools 12 3 10-21-2017 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com