Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2011, 02:17 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 677
Default omni output question

Hello,

I was wondering if I could run the digital outputs thru the monitor control section and also mirror the output to the analog outputs WITHOUT the monitor control section padding the analog output? I want to send to my Dorrough meters via analog and send to my jbl4328p 5.1 via digital. I obviously cant pad the inputs to the meters.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2011, 03:07 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 677
Default Re: omni output question

Bumps.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-26-2011, 01:06 AM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: omni output question

I think you can. In the monitoring tab in I/O Setup, you assign the main CR to Digital, but leave one of the analog stereo pairs out (Say 7-8). You will likely have to do it in the bussing; your stereo bus needs to be a bus that feeds two auxes: One to go to the monitor out (digital) and the other aux to go to the analog output you assign it in the aux's output. See what I'm saying? One stereo bus feeds two auxes, with different output routings.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2011, 02:25 AM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 677
Default Re: omni output question

thanks for the reply.

Im running multichannel meters and speakers so I would need to set the monitors up as the digital outputs 5.1 and double bus (already doing this as I have it now) to the analog outs and the analog outs will not be padded by the level set on the omni?

i know the omni can only have 8 outputs but can mirror the outputs if needed. The question (again just to make it clear) is will that second set of outputs be padded via the volume knob on the omni.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2011, 08:32 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,780
Default Re: omni output question

Are you sure the Omni does any kind of mirroring? I don't have the unit, but I've gotten to mess with it and read the manual and I don't find that capability.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-26-2011, 08:59 AM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default

I only just got mine days ago so I'm not positive. I know you can mirror stereo out the TRS, not sure about digital double-bussing.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-26-2011, 03:46 PM
FilterDecay FilterDecay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 677
Default Re: omni output question

I've read that it will mirror the outputs however maybe its only a stereo pair? Digitech? Can you clear this up please?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibrate OMNI interface for 5.1 output? drguitar Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 15 04-08-2015 05:32 PM
No sound from OMNI ALT Monitor output! UnkleMik Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 4 11-18-2013 12:01 PM
HD OMNI isn't truly 8 output ... agershon Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 9 06-12-2013 11:00 PM
Omni distorts on monitor output sammyfarr Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 04-09-2013 03:17 AM
HD Omni output levels and PPMs idris Post - Surround - Video 8 07-18-2012 04:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com