Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-27-2011, 07:12 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Are Omni Analog ins calibrate-able?

I can't find specs or info about the analog ins on the Omni. Can the input be trimmed to achieve, say, 0VU = -18dBFS or -20dBFS as on my 192s? Does the input, instead, have a fixed calibration; something usually awfully un-pro like 0VU=-14dBFS?

Kind of a big deal, purchase-wise, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-28-2011, 10:51 AM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Are Omni Analog ins calibrate-able?

Manual states:
"
Reference Level
Select the appropriate Reference Level for each of the four analog input channels. Input operating levels are switchable between +4 dBu and -10dBV operation."

Manual is downloadable from Avid site.
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-28-2011, 11:28 AM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Are Omni Analog ins calibrate-able?

Quote:
Originally Posted by C View Post
Manual states:
"
Reference Level
Select the appropriate Reference Level for each of the four analog input channels. Input operating levels are switchable between +4 dBu and -10dBV operation."

Manual is downloadable from Avid site.
Thank you, but that's not at all what I'm asking. This is a question for anyone who has ever set a calibration level between the analog and digital domains. If you grew up under digital only you'll not likely know what I'm talking about. It's an important issue because it affects how hot you record digitally relative to your analog signal chain.

I can see the unit doesn't possess cal trim pots like the 192 or HD I/O, but perhaps they are addressable in software or via the front panel. The outputs can be trimmed over a range of 40dB, so it's a fair question.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-28-2011, 12:00 PM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: Are Omni Analog ins calibrate-able?

I hope you find what you are looking for.
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-28-2011, 09:49 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Are Omni Analog ins calibrate-able?

I think I got my answers:

Sadly no.

Better info.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-07-2011, 12:21 AM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Are Omni Analog ins calibrate-able?

Is anyone at Avid able to chime in as to the factory-set calibration for the Omni's analog inputs?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-07-2011, 08:47 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,635
Default Re: Are Omni Analog ins calibrate-able?

Yes - the Omni line inputs are calibrated to -20.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-07-2011, 09:07 AM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Are Omni Analog ins calibrate-able?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Yes - the Omni line inputs are calibrated to -20.
The good news is that is what I would calibrate them to in any case. Very sensible!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calibrate OMNI interface for 5.1 output? drguitar Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 15 04-08-2015 05:32 PM
+4 dBu or -10 dBv analog in Omni chrisdee Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 2 10-07-2012 05:15 PM
Be aware! Potential HD Omni buyers with treated Rooms and Computers. Omni Noisy Fan FRaNCo MuSiC Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 0 09-25-2011 06:42 AM
192 I/O Analog Input - Ch.3-4 Noisey, 5-6 Can't Calibrate?? RSSstudio Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 11-01-2007 10:01 PM
01V 18bit analog omni outputs? east3rdst 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-07-2001 09:26 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com