Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-30-2021, 10:45 PM

Default Software automatically shutting down after creating Project Name.

Hi team,

I am brand new to this. Purchased a Focusrite Scarlett Solo, followed all instructions to install Pro-Tools First, have an Ilok account attached etc.

While working through the Focusrite setup tutorials, it tells you to create a new project in Pro Tools First. I have not yet even been able to do that.
The moment I select "Create" from the menu items, and then give the project a name and then click on the ''Create" button, Pro-Tools automatically shuts down. I have tried half a dozen times now, and when I open Pro-Tools back up, I can see the Project Name I created, however when I try to open it, it gives me the message "[Project Name]cannot be opened. The latest version of the project may have been uploaded by a newer version of Pro Tools". Please install any available updates and try again".
Bear in mind I have only just created the project, and not yet had the luxury of recording anything within it. The software literally shut down within 2 seconds of creating a project name.

This issue was happening on the software version that was sent to me in a link (version 2019.6.0). I have now upgraded to Pro Tools 2020.9 hoping that would fix the problem, but having the same problem. I am not yet able to use or enjoy this software. Any ideas? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

System Info in attached picture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg System settings - for Protools issue.jpg (31.8 KB, 0 views)
Old 01-31-2021, 03:49 AM

Default Re: Software automatically shutting down after creating Project Name.