Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2013, 07:38 AM
Tigerspill Tigerspill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 62
Default EQing Vocals - Venue EQ or Plug-in EQ

Hi,
I have always used the standard 4 band EQ (plus HPF) on an SC48. I have the plugins that came with the console a few years ago which have a couple of EQs.
Just wondering if these are better than the standard console EQ.
Just interested to learn what others do.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2013, 10:25 AM
vikingthor vikingthor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 207
Default Re: EQing Vocals - Venue EQ or Plug-in EQ

That is a good question, i normaly use only the onboard channel EQ & COMP.
that is for a few reasons; in the heat of the moment it's faster than any other plugin to get a desired sound, and i have all my other racks full of plugins, and there's no dsp left.

Though, I do think EQ III is better than the onboard one.
There's Separate selectable high-pass, low-pass, and notch filters with variable Q and slope. I guess you can give it a try

My signal flow for vocals are, Onboard channel strip, with waves C6 as insert on the input channel
and on my vocal group i use EQ III, and dynamics III or Rcomp
Sometimes Smack harmonics preset(ratio is 1:1) can be nice.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-16-2013, 12:49 AM
Kristo Kotkas's Avatar
Kristo Kotkas Kristo Kotkas is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 624
Default Re: EQing Vocals - Venue EQ or Plug-in EQ

Lets be honest, if you are touring with a band and would like to give them sound as good as it gets you should automate EQ's by songs or even by parts of songs. In this situation, one way to combine using both, on board and plugin EQ's is, if you automate a channel EQ song by song and then find out, that you still need to do some overall tone shaping depending on the venue. In this case I keep channel EQ automated and put an plugin up that is not included in snapshots or you could do it vice versa, up to you.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2013, 08:13 AM
Tigerspill Tigerspill is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 62
Default Re: EQing Vocals - Venue EQ or Plug-in EQ

Thanks Guys!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd plug-in problem VENUE mbm1987 VENUE Live Sound Systems 3 04-02-2013 10:11 AM
Venue 3 and Plug-In Thumbnail Problem Kenmillerjr VENUE Live Sound Systems 9 08-08-2012 03:08 AM
VENUE stock plug-ins Jason Stygar VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 02-17-2011 08:40 AM
Suggested VENUE plug-ins mariobenipayo VENUE Live Sound Systems 10 08-09-2009 08:55 AM
What are some techniques for mixing/EQing vocals MusicalWonder 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-19-2005 07:54 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com