Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2017, 04:38 PM
mrgroovy mrgroovy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 308
Default Apogee Symphony MKII 2x6 Connectivity

I have not ordered the Apogee Symphony MKII 2x6 yet but am close - wanted to run something by the forum.

I recently purchased 2 LaChapell 583e Mic / Pre Compressors which I have mounted in a Vintage King 500 Series Lunchbox Rack.

Currently I am using my 11R as my interface - the reason for the move to the Apogee.

Here is my initial thought on a signal chain (using a vocal mic for instance). I am thinking XLR out of my Lunchbox > XLR in of my Line 6 Helix > XLR out of Helix > XLR in of 11R > XLR out of 11R to XLR in of Symphony. Symphony last in line to be Thunderbolt into my iMac.
That way I can use any effects / amp cab sims of the Helix and / Eleven Rack.
I am thinking NOT to run SPDIF out of my Helix into SPDIF 11R and SPDIF to Apogee because the digital conversion would be at the Helix. I would want the conversion to be at the Apogee - correct? Thx in advance

Postscript - I would have to have the Helix and 11R connected to iMac via USB in order to use the editors yes and be seen as inputs in PT 12?
__________________
iMac 21.5, Mid 2011" - 2.5GHz 12 GB Ram, El Capitan 10.11.3, 2.5GHz, 12 GB Ram, ProTools 12.4, LogicProX, Apogee Symphony MKII 8x8, Eleven Rack ERXP, Axiom Pro S49 MkII, Maschine MKIII.

Last edited by mrgroovy; 03-03-2017 at 04:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-05-2017, 10:28 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Apogee Symphony MKII 2x6 Connectivity

You need to connect your helix and your 11 rack to the Apogee unit via digital input, either SPDIF or ADAT for all of your guitar recording.

I understand the desire to be able to use some of the effects in the helix, for other sources, I believe you will find you have better choices via plug-ins, but that's not for me to decide.

If you did want to use your helix for effects on other sources, the best way to do that would also be via a digital input/output, as described above. You can utilize your helix, as an insert with in ProTools enabling you to send your track out of ProTools into the helix, apply the effect , then return that back into ProTools. There is simply no advantage, of having any source converting a digital signal to analog, and then convert that analog signal back to digital, unless that's the only option. An example would be from a microphone into a mic preamp, that needs to be converted to digital.

Take a vocal Mic as an example into an analog microphone preamp, then going into the helix via analog, having that Helix convert that microphone signal into digital, and then turn around and convert that digital signal to analog, then sending that to the Appogee where it would have to convert that analog signal back to digital. There's nothing gained in this process, actually you would be degrading that signal significantly. In the digital world of recording, you need to avoid where possible, unnecessary converting from analog to digital, and/or, from digital to analog.

You live a little more than an hour and a half from me, you're more than welcome to come over to my studio one weekend, where we can go over things like this in greater detail. I'm more than happy to help you out if you interested.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp

Last edited by Barry Johns; 03-05-2017 at 10:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apogee Symphony I/O MKII Drew Mazurek Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 6 01-20-2016 09:47 AM
Apogee Symphony, symphony 64, motu 128, 3u rack case chrisgil Buy & Sell 1 02-18-2013 10:48 AM
HD9 with Apogee Symphony active macOS 2 03-29-2011 09:02 AM
Apogee Symphony and PT9 forjam Pro Tools 9 10 02-01-2011 01:52 PM
HD & Apogee & Symphony bigfatjim Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-06-2007 05:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com