Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-25-2016, 04:59 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,217
Default Pro Tools 12 Sierra and Mac Pro 4.1

Yes, this is directly related to PT12!!

Been reading that MAC OS Sierra does not have the GUI lag that Yosemite, and El Capitain have.
(NO LONGER NAMED OS X)

But you need to also note, before jumping on the bandwagon in a month or so, that Sierra will not install on a Mac Pro 4.1or below.They are no longer supported.
Apple has made sure of this.

The good news!! Mac Pro 4.1 flashed to 5.1 will be fine.

JUST SAYIN!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-25-2016, 08:55 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,943
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 Sierra and Mac Pro 4.1

I'm sure once released someone comes up with a solution to installing Sierra to older systems...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-26-2016, 08:55 AM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,217
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 Sierra and Mac Pro 4.1

They have, but seems WiFi doesn't work.
Something to do about older systems having optional WiFi.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-26-2016, 08:56 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,943
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 Sierra and Mac Pro 4.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Something to do about older systems having optional WiFi.
Those were the PPC hardware, as I recall...
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-26-2016, 09:29 AM
DJ Hellfire DJ Hellfire is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 2,030
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 Sierra and Mac Pro 4.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
But you need to also note, before jumping on the bandwagon in a month or so, that Sierra will not install on a Mac Pro 4.1or below.They are no longer supported.
Apple has made sure of this.

The good news!! Mac Pro 4.1 flashed to 5.1 will be fine.

JUST SAYIN!!
Flashed mine about a year ago with the 12-Core upgrade.
__________________
www.HellfireBeats.com

Akai MPC 2000XL, Akai MPC X, Mackie 1202VLZ Pro, Akai Advance 61, Focal Alpha 80, UAD 2 Apollo Quad, UAD 2 Satellite Quad, UAD 2 Octo PCIe, Neve R6 "Lunch Box", Neve Portico 511, Neve Portico 551, Neumann TLM49

Pro Tools 2018.10

Mac Pro 4,1 (5,1 upgrade), Early-2009, 3.46GHz Nehalem 12-Core, 32GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

13" MacBook Pro, Late-2011, 2.4GHz Dual Core i5, 16GB RAM - OS 10.12.6

27" iMac, Late-2012, 3.4GHz i7, 24GB RAM - OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-26-2016, 11:07 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 Sierra and Mac Pro 4.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Those were the PPC hardware, as I recall...
My 2009 8-core Nelhalem definitely does not have wi-fi. Maybe I'll have to look into upgrading it to 5.1 spec.

Anyone have any info, point me in the right direction, etc., to do that?
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-26-2016, 05:13 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,217
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 Sierra and Mac Pro 4.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Those were the PPC hardware, as I recall...
My 2009 had WiFI optional. It has a daughterboard.
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-26-2016, 06:27 PM
TVPostSound's Avatar
TVPostSound TVPostSound is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,217
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 Sierra and Mac Pro 4.1

But it seems I will need one of these, to fully utilize Sierra.
http://www.osxwifi.com/apple-broadco...nd-macpro-2010

Will install Sierra public Beta this weekend, and see how PT12 HD handles it.

Yes, on a separate drive!!!
__________________
IMDB
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2016, 06:32 PM
Anthony Jr.'s Avatar
Anthony Jr. Anthony Jr. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hammonton, NJ
Posts: 125
Default Re: Pro Tools 12 Sierra and Mac Pro 4.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by TVPostSound View Post
Been reading that MAC OS Sierra does not have the GUI lag that Yosemite, and El Capitain have.
(NO LONGER NAMED OS X)
Sent out an e-mail to Eiosis about AirEQ's sluggish analyzer and they offered the same information:

"We have had a few reports from macOS Sierra testers that the issues have been resolved in that OS."
__________________
2018 18-Core iMac Pro / 64GB RAM / Mojave 10.14.3 / Protools 2018.12 / Apollo 8XP / Love
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacOS Sierra + Pro Tools 12.5 = No Fader Lag elvehornacek Pro Tools 12 31 11-27-2016 09:50 PM
PT on macOS Sierra? eesn Pro Tools 12 66 10-01-2016 11:46 PM
Should I Buy Before Sierra? Cutlerbri macOS 21 08-09-2016 01:09 PM
HELP! Pro Tools LE 8 crashing macOS Sierra Developer Preview! reichman Getting Started 3 06-17-2016 07:17 AM
walla sierra leone? stormmusic Post - Surround - Video 0 06-02-2010 10:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com