Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-17-2015, 01:12 PM
wltrwhte wltrwhte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default Issue with PT9 and ilok

Hey guys.
Obviously these problems are common. I recently installed my copy of ProTools 9 on my iMac. Unfortunately when I attempt to open the program it states the error missing ilok, please connect activated ilok. For some reason I have never ran into this problem when installing onto my PC, but with my Mac it just will not recognize the ilok. I have a valid license, I have downloaded the license manager. All of my licenses show up correctly. Yet, for some reason when I attempt to launch Pro Tools immediately the error shows up. My ilok is plugged in and lit up. I have tried looking for drivers and it seems the PACE website is defunct. The ilok software recognizes that the ilok is plugged in, yet the system preferences shows no ilok under the "other" category of devices. Does anyone have any idea? I was hoping to dedicate this old iMac to DAW, but so far its a no go.
Cheers
Frustrated-ilok-Guy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-17-2015, 01:31 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Issue with PT9 and ilok

USB 2 or 3 port?
there have been problems with iLok and USB3, a USB2 hub in the 3 port usually fixes it
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-17-2015, 02:12 PM
wltrwhte wltrwhte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default Re: Issue with PT9 and ilok

Hey Craig
thanks for the response. It is a 2007 iMac so its definitely a USB 2.0. I have a USB hub that is 3.0. I can hook that up and give it a try.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2015, 02:13 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,805
Default Re: Issue with PT9 and ilok

Nothing wrong with the iLok website
https://www.ilok.com/#!home
ditto on USB3 ports being an issue. I have read that a USB2 hub, connected to a USB3 port can make things cooperate(but I have not tried it)
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2015, 03:16 PM
wltrwhte wltrwhte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default Re: Issue with PT9 and ilok

nope no luck. It's so strange because the window pops up and says authorize protools 9. When I insert the ilok a message pops up that says "authorized pro tools ilok". Then when I click continue i get "Error, missing ilock for pro tools 9, insert necessary ilok to continue". I reinstalled and tried again, still nothing. This is so odd.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2015, 03:57 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: Issue with PT9 and ilok

Does the error say "missing ilok", or does it say "missing license" or "no authorization found?"
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2015, 04:39 PM
wltrwhte wltrwhte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default Re: Issue with PT9 and ilok

Hey
it actually says missing iLok authorization. However in the iLok license software it shows my licenses as active. It is very strange.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2015, 04:41 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,843
Default Re: Issue with PT9 and ilok

Quote:
Originally Posted by wltrwhte View Post
Hey
it actually says missing iLok authorization. However in the iLok license software it shows my licenses as active. It is very strange.
Just to be 100% sure : you do have the license activated ON your ilok, not just in the ILM?
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-17-2015, 04:53 PM
wltrwhte wltrwhte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Default Re: Issue with PT9 and ilok

I am assuming so. I have ran this exact version of pro tools on my PC with the same iLok. I wanted to dedicate my mac to audio since I use my PC for gaming and it is not as mobile. I figured I could just install onto my mac. The iLok works on the PC, shouldnt it also work on the Mac?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-17-2015, 04:56 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,843
Default Re: Issue with PT9 and ilok

Quote:
Originally Posted by wltrwhte View Post
I am assuming so. I have ran this exact version of pro tools on my PC with the same iLok. I wanted to dedicate my mac to audio since I use my PC for gaming and it is not as mobile. I figured I could just install onto my mac. The iLok works on the PC, shouldnt it also work on the Mac?
Yes it should, you can look in the ILM and see the ilok there, press that icon and see that the license is activated on that ilok. Quick and simple and rules out one cause atleast
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iLok Issue AirborneFO Pro Tools 10 4 06-09-2012 10:36 AM
ilok issue pasanta macOS 4 05-23-2012 01:10 PM
iLok issue.... dms414 Pro Tools 9 3 07-26-2011 10:15 PM
Ilok and PT HD 9 issue alea jacta Pro Tools 9 2 02-09-2011 10:35 AM
the issue of iLok.com Captain Crunch Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-04-2004 01:04 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com