Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 12-08-2011, 07:14 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
Sort of puts Avid's HD upgrade prices into stark perspective?

The FULL version of Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!
Naturally it is taken very lightly here, but a lot serious engineers use Reaper. It is 6 MB to download, is 64 bit and has many of the features of Logic and Cubase, as well as other unique features. A big plus is the 32 bit version bridges 64 bit plugins, so there really is no need for the 64 bit version for some.

If you use it commercially and gross less than 20k USD it is only $60.

Also, when I purchased Reaper 3 it included free updates and upgrades up to 4.99.

I dont think that PT HD can be replaced right now. For everything else, Reaper's model and functionality are very attractive and hard to beat. That may be where the Logic Pro price fits.
  #22  
Old 12-08-2011, 08:01 PM
philip888's Avatar
philip888 philip888 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1,947
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Logic is all Harvy Mason Jr uses from start to finish.
__________________
Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R BIOS FH, Intel Core i7 CPU 980X, 24GB Mushkin Enhanced Blackline DDR3 1600Mhz PC3-12800, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit, Pro Tools 12.4 Antelope Orion 32
  #23  
Old 12-08-2011, 08:43 PM
getz76 getz76 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,491
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Apple's killshot.
__________________
| Logic Pro 9 | Reason 6.5 | Pro Tools 10 | MOTU UltraLite mk3 | RME ADI-2 | Summit Audio 2BA-221 x 2 | MOTU 8pre x 2 |
| Mac Pro (4,1) 2.26gHz Xeon x 2 16gB OS X 10.7.4 | Macbook Pro (8,2) 2.2gHz i7 Quad 16gB OS X 10.7.4 |
  #24  
Old 12-08-2011, 08:51 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,916
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

No matter what our preferences are, this is not good news for Avid.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
  #25  
Old 12-08-2011, 09:41 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
No matter what our preferences are, this is not good news for Avid.
I honestly don't see how. When everyone gets done talking about how much Avid sucks and how overpriced HD is, they end with, "But it is the best DAW for blah blah, so I upgraded." That may be changing with PT 10, but Avid's best hand is nothing can replace PT right now for audio. Plus, some of Logic's users use PT for mixing and would most likely be using PT (at least Native) only if it was friggin 64 bit, had offline bounce, instrument freeze, etc. So Avid has all the cards with PT 11 coming up. It just depends on how they deliver. In the meantime, even if it was $50, I don't expect anytime soon to see Logic as the main DAW in the facilities downtown.
  #26  
Old 12-08-2011, 09:45 PM
BGMusic BGMusic is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 433
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

I just upgraded to Logic Pro 9.1.6 and it's nothing but the spinning wheel of death. With no real Apple pro audio division anymore, it's the kiss of death. Glad I have PT 10.
  #27  
Old 12-08-2011, 09:47 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,360
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BGMusic View Post
I just upgraded to Logic Pro 9.1.6 and it's nothing but the spinning wheel of death. With no real Apple pro audio division anymore, it's the kiss of death. Glad I have PT 10.
But it's such a cute wheel
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
  #28  
Old 12-08-2011, 10:11 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TOM@METRO View Post
No matter what our preferences are, this is not good news for Avid.
I have been screaming frm the roof tops for 2 months now.

AVID LOWER PRICES MAKE PROFIT WITH VOLUME!!!!!!
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
  #29  
Old 12-08-2011, 10:15 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by spenner View Post
I honestly don't see how. When everyone gets done talking about how much Avid sucks and how overpriced HD is, they end with, "But it is the best DAW for blah blah, so I upgraded." That may be changing with PT 10, but Avid's best hand is nothing can replace PT right now for audio. Plus, some of Logic's users use PT for mixing and would most likely be using PT (at least Native) only if it was friggin 64 bit, had offline bounce, instrument freeze, etc. So Avid has all the cards with PT 11 coming up. It just depends on how they deliver. In the meantime, even if it was $50, I don't expect anytime soon to see Logic as the main DAW in the facilities downtown.
Not saying that this pertains to you, but the foolish perspective is the one taken from today's perspective....you don't succeed without having a clear picture of the future.

Does anyone have any Alesis Adats for sale?
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
  #30  
Old 12-08-2011, 10:47 PM
spenner spenner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Somewhere under the rainbow
Posts: 1,202
Default Re: Logic Pro now costs $199 !!!! Are you watching Avid?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Johns View Post
Not saying that this pertains to you, but the foolish perspective is the one taken from today's perspective....you don't succeed without having a clear picture of the future.

Does anyone have any Alesis Adats for sale?
HD is HD. It will never cost $200 so I'm not sure where it fits here, regarding the OP. How many pro studios will switch to Logic because it is now $200? Pros use what works, not what is cheaper because it is cheaper. And the fact of the matter is the cheaper option is not PT. Believe it or not that is the big advantage for Avid, and PT rightfully earned it.

Speaking of the future, I mentioned PT 11. If that is handled right, and includes much of the top feature requests, then no one will be talking about Logic. The lack of features for "everyone" vs. the price is what gave PT 10 the black eye. Maybe they could be lower, but some have always complained about the upgrade prices and HD prices... others don't.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Watching Movies with Digi Interface chrismeraz Windows 2 01-02-2011 01:54 PM
Watching Pro Tools Tutorials michaiel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 05-10-2009 07:43 AM
003 Rack / Mac Book – watching dvds in 5.1? komakaze 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 03-30-2009 02:53 AM
OT : So are you watching American Idol? WorldOfWiz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 13 03-22-2003 11:54 PM
Watching movies with your ASIO drivers turko 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 01-08-2003 01:19 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com