Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Old 05-08-2009, 05:02 AM

Default Watching Pro Tools Tutorials

I am new to Pro Tools and want to open a PT8 Session and watch a tutorial on DVD at the same time. When I do this I cannot hear the audio on the DVD. Is there a way around this so I can watch/listen to the DVD and have PT8 available to practice with at the same time?
thanks
Old 05-08-2009, 06:56 AM

Default Re: Watching Pro Tools Tutorials

You need to change your output settings within your operating system to what it was originally. When the Mbox is plugged in, it changes the output to that. Pro Tools will then still work and the DVD will play on whatever output you had it at originally.
Old 05-08-2009, 04:30 PM

I had already tried to change the settings in System Preferences > Sound > and changed my output to internal speakers on my MacBook Pro, but no audio while the DVD Player playing the tutorial. The 003 Rack seems to be interfering, but I do not know why.
What next?
Old 05-08-2009, 04:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by michaiel View Post
I had already tried to change the settings in System Preferences > Sound > and changed my output to internal speakers on my MacBook Pro, but no audio while the DVD Player playing the tutorial. The 003 Rack seems to be interfering, but I do not know why.
What next?
Download handbrake and rip the DVD to quicktime files? Then you can import the quicktime files into Protools and watch them within protools while you follow along/play around with whatever subject they are talking about?
Old 05-08-2009, 07:58 PM

thanks for the suggestion. I will do a search for handbrake. I was hoping an admin would drop in and give an explanation for this.