Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:15 AM
audiogeek1 audiogeek1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 266
Default Re: Realistic Track count with Mojo

Mojo seems great do not be afraid of it or digi specs. They are usually very conservative with track counts etc... We have a similar system to Brad in one of our rooms. We have a dual 2gig G5 with 2 Gigs of ram. We use SCSI Atto UL3D for video drives 10k cheetahs and Firewire 400 for audio playback. Also using 6.9.1 on 10.3.8. We have had 0 problem with the system. I had a session in there that had digitized video from the mojo and 63 24 bit 48k audio across 2 7200 rpm firewire drives. The sluggish part of the system was the firewire seek time. Everything else seemed to go well. I did not use very many plug ins though as the session was split out to 48 outs to the console where processing and eq was done.

In the room I normally work in we use PCs and V10s with Unity. For this system is says 48 tracks max at 24/48 with V10 but on the bigger dramatic shows we run 80+ tracks and video off of unity without problem. Unity is the only thing that has a bandwidth issue depending on # of users etc... Sometimes if I am importing SFX it takes a while to open the Import Audio Dialog but then it works quickly from there. During normal operation and editing the system plays way faster than AVXL and 6.2.3 ever did.

Hope this helps

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-18-2006, 11:56 AM
Richard Fairbanks Richard Fairbanks is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,861
Default Re: Realistic Track count with Mojo

I don't want to pull this too far off topic but concerning G5 slot order, this compato page is what I've read, it says expansion host card, then PCI-firewire, then UL3D. I have a feeling it doesn't matter one way or the other. Maybe I'll swap the order and find out.
__________________
Call me by my real name, "Postman"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-18-2006, 12:11 PM
1150Post 1150Post is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 431
Default Re: Realistic Track count with Mojo

Quote:
I don't want to pull this too far off topic but concerning G5 slot order, this compato page is what I've read, it says expansion host card, then PCI-firewire, then UL3D. I have a feeling it doesn't matter one way or the other. Maybe I'll swap the order and find out.
Yeah, I had seen that too, but then I saw something else, can't find it now... just wanted to help, as your system description seemed a bit off from my experience.

Best of Luck!
__________________
Brad McIlvaine
Sr. Mixer/Designer
Henninger Media Services
Washington, DC 20036
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-18-2006, 04:53 PM
110 ohm 110 ohm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 19
Default Re: Realistic Track count with Mojo

Thanks for all of the advice.

I must say that I am still a bit on the fence as both sides of the coin have been represented. We do a lot of audio post for our "in house" picture dept and the idea of importing the various avid resolutions is a big plus. Our picture cuts are usually at 14:1p so it seems like it would work quite well.

It would appear that a tape-based workflow is slowing starting to fade away except for the final deliveries. Perhaps when the Internet gets faster we can move to file transfers for distributors.

I have just finished my Cisco training in anticipation for the future IP workflows we will be seeing soon. Hopefully it pays off.

Unfortunately I will not be able to get a demo mojo to try it out. Not sure yet whether to just bite the bullet and take a chance. Not what I usually like to do though.

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-23-2006, 04:58 PM
Gordon Lyon Gordon Lyon is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 126
Default Re: Realistic Track count with Mojo

In regards to track count with Avid video, please note that we have just updated the compatibility docs: When using Mojo or AVoption|V10, Pro Tools is now fully qualified to play 64 tracks of 48kHz/24-bit audio when using local storage (Playback of audio from Avid Unity is still limited to 48 tracks, however). Ultimately, Richard Fairbanks' assesment is correct: performance will vary based on multiple factors, including edit density, plug-ins, automation, video compression, etc.

Thanks, Gordon
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Track Count @ 96 kHz for LE ryangeller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 02-04-2006 12:49 PM
Realistic track count at 96K Jsalam112 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 08-14-2004 05:32 PM
What's your track count with HD 96k? Zep Dude Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-15-2002 12:35 AM
Track count Mr T 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 07-30-2001 01:12 AM
PT Mix (not plus) : Realistic Track & Plug COUNT otoole General Discussion 4 04-06-2001 05:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com