Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-11-2015, 02:20 AM
Nigel Tufnel Nigel Tufnel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: 3257 Cummings Dr
Posts: 4
Default TonePort UX2 Not Recognized in Peripherals

Hello,

Try as I might, I can't get the UX2 to show up in the HW selection on Pro Tools 12. All drivers and such are updated, still no dice. I used to use the UX2 with PT M-Powered 8.

Related question: Can I use the RTAS PodFarm as a plugin? I googled to mixed feedback on that.

Sorry if I'm doing this wrong, I'm a newbie on the forum. Thanks in advance!

JD

--------------------------------------------------------
SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : OEM
Serial Number : To be fille***********
Chassis : Desktop
Mainboard : ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Serial Number : 1303086********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 1503 01/11/2013
Total Memory : 31.9GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor (3M 6T 3.81GHz/4.1GHz, 2GHz IMC, 3x 2MB L2, 2x 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : AM2r2/AM3

Chipset
Memory Controller : AMD F15 (Orochi) CPU HT Hub 2x 1.3GHz (2.6GHz), 2x 16GB DIMM DDR3 1.6GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Crucial BLS8G3D1609DS1S00 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 4-39-12-6)
Memory Module : Crucial BLS8G3D1609DS1S00 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 4-39-12-6)
Memory Module : Crucial BLS8G3D1609DS1S00 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 4-39-12-6)
Memory Module : Crucial BLS8G3D1609DS1S00 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-24 4-39-12-6)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : ACR Acer T232HL
(1920x1080, 23.1")
Monitor/Panel : ACR Acer T232HL
(1920x1080, 23.1")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT (14CU 112SP SM4.0 1.62GHz, 512MB DDR3 1.9GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT (14CU 112SP SM4.0 1.62GHz, 512MB DDR3 1.9GHz 256-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT (112SP 14C 1.62GHz, 512MB DDR3 1.9GHz 256-bit)
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT (112SP 14C 1.62GHz, 512MB DDR3 1.9GHz 256-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT (112SP 14C 1.62GHz, 512MB DDR3 1.9GHz 256-bit)

Pen and Touch
Touch Digitiser : Integrated
Multi-Touch : Yes
Simultaneous Touches : 10
Pen Digitiser : External

Storage Devices
Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 7200rpm) : 932GB (C:) (H:)
Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA150, 7200rpm) : 932GB (G:) (K:)
MAXTOR STM3320620AS (320.1GB, SATA150, 3.5", 16MB Cache) : 298GB (L:)
WDC WD3200AAKS-00B3A0 (320.1GB, USB2/SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 298GB (I:)
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24LS50 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
Cobain (C:) : 312GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 7200rpm)
My Book (I:) : 298GB (FAT32, 32kB) @ WDC WD3200AAKS-00B3A0 (320.1GB, USB2/SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Gandhi (G:) : 590GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA150, 7200rpm)
Kurt (K:) : 342GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA150, 7200rpm)
LovePump (L:) : 298GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ MAXTOR STM3320620AS (320.1GB, SATA150, 3.5", 16MB Cache)
HotPants (H:) : 619GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 7200rpm)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24LS50 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ATI (AMD) IXP SB600/700/800 SMBUS Controller
LPC Hub Controller 2 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 LPC host controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T2 87-21
Audio Device : ASUS IXP SB600 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Serial Port(s) : 1
Disk Controller : ASUS SB700/800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
Disk Controller : ASUS Asmedia 106x SATA Controller
USB Controller 1 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI0 Controller
USB Controller 2 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB EHCI Controller
USB Controller 3 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI0 Controller
USB Controller 4 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB EHCI Controller
USB Controller 5 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI2 Controller
USB Controller 6 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB OHCI0 Controller
USB Controller 7 : ATI (AMD) SB700/800 USB EHCI Controller
USB Controller 8 : ASUS ASMedia XHCI Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Lucent/Agere Systems (Was: AT&T MicroElectronics) FW322/323 IEEE1394 OHCI FireWire Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : ATI SB800 SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send To Microsoft OneNote 2010 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Canon MG2100 series Printer (USB, Colour)

Peripherals
Media Player : WD 3200AAK External (298GB)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 1Gbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 8.1 Professional Tablet PC Edition 6.03.9600
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-11-2015, 05:52 AM
junkgear's Avatar
junkgear junkgear is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: TonePort UX2 Not Recognized in Peripherals

You can't use RTAS plugins in PT12. The plugin format used in PT11 and up is AAX.

As for your interface, try holding down the 'N' key while PT is loading. This should prompt you with the playback engine selection dialog once PT is loaded. Choose your interface (UX2) an close the window. Then go to Setup->IO, select the Input tab and press the default button. Do the same for the Output and Bus tabs.

Once finished, you should be able to use the UX2
__________________
Will K

System Details
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2015, 06:55 AM
Nigel Tufnel Nigel Tufnel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: 3257 Cummings Dr
Posts: 4
Default Re: TonePort UX2 Not Recognized in Peripherals

Thanks for the info.

Well, holding down N launched the Playback Engine dialog upon start, but the UX2 is only listed in "Playback Engine" list, and under Input Device, "None" is the only option - I don't even see the Saffire.

However, if I select the UX2 as the Playback Engine, I then see it under Hardware/peripherals. This obviously won't work because I need the Saffire for monitoring, etc.

I'm assuming the Saffire was selected as the Playback Engine before I did the N thing, because it worked for everything. So new question, I guess: Is it possible to have a different device configured for playback than for input?

I'm pretty confused by all this.
__________________
-------------------
Computing Horsepower:

Windows System : Win 8.1 x64 Professional Tablet PC Edition 6.03.9600
Mainboard : ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 1503 01/11/2013
Total Memory : 31.9GB DIMM DDR3
AMD FX(tm)-6300
Firewire/USB/Sata
Lots of drives - all 7200 RPM platters
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-15-2015, 08:53 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,775
Default Re: TonePort UX2 Not Recognized in Peripherals

You can not use 2 different interfaces with Protools. It's either one or the other.

However, if your Saffire has a Spidf Digital input, then you can use the UX2, and Pod Farm, in standalone mode and use its Digital Spidf out into the Saffire.

So in this case the Saffire would be the Protools interface, then you'd launch the UX2 into standalone operation (along with Pod Farm-not as a plugin, but standalone), and then you could record your guitar sounds that way. There are setup guides in the manuals for this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C24 not recognized in peripherals Guy McDude ICON & C|24 1 10-19-2012 05:20 AM
Can I re-amp a DI track from within PT using a TonePort UX1? GenerationM Tips & Tricks 5 03-07-2008 12:09 PM
Line 6 Toneport flea03 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 02-18-2006 08:34 PM
Line 6 Toneport RussUK 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 12-30-2005 11:37 PM
Line6 Toneport xian$ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-10-2005 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com