Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-25-2012, 05:24 PM
unexplainedbacon unexplainedbacon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: whittier, california
Posts: 7
Default "Bus error" in thread "Main Thread", at address 0x0

Hi everyone, I downloaded the 30 day trial of PT 10 (coming from PT 8) and I get this bus error message on startup. I've searched the forums and tried a few things (such as repair disk permissions) but I still get the message. Can anyone help me out?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-25-2012, 05:34 PM
C C is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: LA, CA, USA
Posts: 926
Default Re: "Bus error" in thread "Main Thread", at address 0x0

Start Here: http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050

Need much more information than you have provided.

After that:

1/ disconnect external devices
2/ reinstall
etc.

There is help to be had but need the relevant info first.

Ceri
__________________
--
Ceri Thomas
Personal Site
Mix Tech/Assistant Sound Editor
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2012, 05:35 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,426
Default Re: "Bus error" in thread "Main Thread", at address 0x0

Quote:
Originally Posted by unexplainedbacon View Post
Hi everyone, I downloaded the 30 day trial of PT 10 (coming from PT 8) and I get this bus error message on startup. I've searched the forums and tried a few things (such as repair disk permissions) but I still get the message. Can anyone help me out?
That is a useless amount of information to work with. Look up on this page. See "Help us Help You - READ THIS Before Posting!". Start there.

What exact OS are you running on, how exactly did you unisntall PT 8 and install PT 10?

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2012, 05:39 PM
unexplainedbacon unexplainedbacon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: whittier, california
Posts: 7
Default Re: "Bus error" in thread "Main Thread", at address 0x0

Apologies, I posted this to my profile, should have included it here

MBP 2.66 i7, 4GB

OSX 10.7.5

003 Rack

I DID NOT uninstall PT8 before installing PT 10, is this likely my problem?

Sorry for the newbishness. I can also paste the full error report if that sheds light

EDIT:
I do not have a PT8 disk to uninstall, and I signed into my AVID account and cannot find an uninstaller, where can I find this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-25-2012, 05:57 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,426
Default Re: "Bus error" in thread "Main Thread", at address 0x0

Quote:
Originally Posted by unexplainedbacon View Post
I DID NOT uninstall PT8 before installing PT 10, is this likely my problem?
Is there an uninstaller in /Applications/Digidesign/Pro Tools/Pro Tools Utilities. I can't remember for 8, but it should be around there somewhere. Do a "clean" uninstall to remove all plugins etc.

That _may_ be your problem. Open the install instructions and follow them, especially the driver install instructions, and the systems optimization instructions as well. Pro Tools 10 needs separate driver installs and is more complex that a Pro Tools LE install. With Pro Tools you cannot just spin up a DVD-ROM and run the installer, you must slow down and follow the instructions.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-26-2012, 06:12 AM
unexplainedbacon unexplainedbacon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: whittier, california
Posts: 7
Default Re: "Bus error" in thread "Main Thread", at address 0x0

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Is there an uninstaller in /Applications/Digidesign/Pro Tools/Pro Tools Utilities. I can't remember for 8, but it should be around there somewhere. Do a "clean" uninstall to remove all plugins etc.

That _may_ be your problem. Open the install instructions and follow them, especially the driver install instructions, and the systems optimization instructions as well. Pro Tools 10 needs separate driver installs and is more complex that a Pro Tools LE install. With Pro Tools you cannot just spin up a DVD-ROM and run the installer, you must slow down and follow the instructions.

Darryl
Darryl thank you for your help, I was able to find the uninstall directory and wiped PT then reinstalled and that solved my problem. Thank you for your help!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac i5 2012 "Bus Error" in thread "Main Thread", at address 0x0 tony20970 macOS 2 01-29-2014 10:45 PM
'bus error" in thread "main thread" at address 0x0 FREEBIRD3BY3 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 10-15-2012 02:11 PM
"Bus error" in thread "Main Thread" address 0x0 briantar1 macOS 1 05-28-2011 04:34 PM
"Bus error" in "Main Thread", at address 0x0 qbert1 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 04-28-2011 08:45 AM
"Segmentation Fault" in thread"Main Thread" at address 0x0 refuu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-13-2011 05:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com